Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Remember, I said in my last post, I am going to read Classics this week? This is the first one.

Goodreads Summary: The tragic story of the complex bond between two migrant laborers in Central California. They are George Milton and Lennie Small, itinerant ranch hands who dream of one day owning a small farm. George acts as a father figure to Lennie, who is a very large, simple-minded man, calming him and helping to rein in his immense physical strength.

My views: Seriously (don’t kill me for this), I had never heard of this book before. I was just trying to find out the Classic that had the least number of pages and I found it. Am I glad? Absolutely!

This is the first Classic that I have read that has such simple language that you don’t have to read every line twice or read a non-classic to be able to come back to it. It is a book you finish in one go. And as aptly put by a friend (Hey, Judy! I am quoting you here), the book is written simple in style, but complex in thought.

The characters are really well developed, as is seen in all Classics. I fell in love with Lenny, he is very cute, innocent and adorable. Except for the fact that he ends up killing mice and pups. I don’t like that, I love animals. But what can you say when he innocently replies “But I was just petting him”? He can’t help it, he is a big man.

The story is short and ends up breaking my heart. Seriously, though I didn’t cry but oh, it was difficult.

Despite it being a short novella, Steinbeck manages to give us a view into everyone’s life and what holds them back.

The book is simply written yet it leaves you thinking a long time after you finish reading.

If you want a Classic to start with, this should be the one. Simply told.

4/5 stars – I really liked it.

About Pragya

A Clinical Psychologist by profession and an avid reader by nature, I am a 25 year old from the exotic location of India. I'm currently doing my PhD in Clinical Psychology and learning to juggle my reading with it.

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Book reviews, Classics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. It’s wonderful that you didn’t cry when you finished this book! I couldn’t help my tears when I closed the book. Lennie is such a sweet guy. I don’t hate George for what he does, but I really hate the condition which forces him to do so. It’s a really good book and I’m glad that you enjoyed it too! :)

    • It wasn’t that I wasn’t sad, I was just too shocked to cry. I couldn’t believe that had happened. I loved Lenny. And yes, it was great book. I am glad I read it. :)

  2. I loved this book when I was younger. I had to read it for my grade 9 English class and thought it was great. It’s such a short book but it feels like it’s much longer. Glad you liked it :)

    • Oh, you read it in school. That’s way too early for a classic. But yes this one is much simple in language and content. I really liked it though I was devastated by the end.

  3. In my junior year of high school, a bunch of us took a block AP English and American history course. We had a fun project with this book where we had to put on a mock supreme court case for Lenny, to see if he should be held responsible. I’ll never forget it.

  4. I agree, this is a great ‘classic’ to start with. Steinbeck’s simple use of language is his trademark. I think it’s brilliant. You must have considered giving it 5 stars?

    • Well, I am one of those stringent readers who keep those 5 stars only for those books that awe’d me from start till end and then some more. I loved this book but not that much. For me, Anna Karenina was 5 stars. This one’s a four. I think, to each his own. :)

  5. Good review :) Was just stoping to say that you’re taged as part of my chain http://turningthepagesx.blogspot.com/2012/02/book-tag.html

Your comments make my day. Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,220 other followers

