Girls Love Travis Walker by Anne Pfeffer

17456388New Adult Contemporary
Date Published: 3/15/13

Synopsis: To nineteen-year-old high school dropout Travis Walker, women are like snowflakes– each one different, but beautiful in her own way. He can charm any girl he meets, and yet down deep he fears he’ll always be a loser like his jailbird father. As the landlady threatens to evict him and his sick mother, Travis takes a job he hates and spends his evenings picking up girls at a nearby night spot. When he enlists in a teen program at the local fire station, he finds out he’s amazing at it. Then he meets the smoking hot Kat Summers, enlists Kat’s friend Zoey to help him woo her, and falls in love for the first time ever. But he keeps the details of his life secret. His girl will never love him back if she knows the truth about him….

Buy it here – Amazon – 99 cents only!| Add on Goodreads

My View: I read Any Other Night by Anne Pfeffer last year and really liked it (read my review here) so when I got the offer to read another of her books, I jumped at the chance.

The way the book started made me feel as if ‘oh, this will be yet another new adult contemporary plots I have been reading which have nothing new to offer’ but a few pages into the book and I started to disagree with myself.

A great plot and absolutely very different from all the new adult books out there (you got to believe me, I have been reading a lot of them lately), this book came out to be a winner all the way.

And yeah the title is right, I did fell in love with Travis Walker. Not at first but gradually, oh yes! Bring him on. :)

I loved the tragic yet real plot, the well etched characters, the situations that played out. And this is embarrassing to admit but I ended up crying even though I totally shouldn’t have. *sigh* But it was such a tragic, sad circumstance, I couldn’t help myself.

Overall, a real gem of a story written equally well. I think I’m going to go check out the other two books by Anne Pfeffer. She’s notched up a spot on my authors-to-look-out-for list.

4/5 stars – I really liked it. images (1)

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. I have in no way been compensated and my views are my own.

Author Bio:

Anne Pfeffer is the author of Any Other Night and The Wedding Cake Girl.  She lives in Los Angeles, CA.

Contact Links: Website | Twitter @AnnePfeffer1 | Goodreads

One thought on “Girls Love Travis Walker by Anne Pfeffer

  1. This book was gut wrenching in the most amazing way! The story is so different than those on the the new adult romances…it’s amazing. This is a story of love. Love for family and love for one’s parents! Such a sweet romance with such a twist. This is a must read! Starts out slowly but trust me keep reading you will not be sorry!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

