Spoiled by Heather Cocks, Jessica Morgan

 16-year-old Molly Dix loves her ordinary life in suburban Indiana, so when her single mother passes  away, she is shocked to discover that her biological father is Brick Berlin, world famous movie star and red carpet regular.

Equally intrigued and terrified by her Hollywood lineage, Molly moves to Southern California and plunges head-first into the deep end of Beverly Hills celebrity life. Just as Molly thinks her new life and family couldn’t get any stranger, she meets Brooke Berlin, her gorgeous and spoiled half-sister whom welcomes Molly to la-la land with a healthy dose of passive-aggressive “sisterly love.”

Set against the backdrop of a sparkling and fashion-filled Los Angeles, this deliciously dysfunctional family soap opera will satisfy every reader looking for their next lifestyles-of-the-rich-and-famous beach read.

Well, frankly, I didn’t think much of the book and wouldn’t have read it if it hadn’t been a gift. The first  page didn’t prompt me to read further. But I still give the book 2 stars because it has a plot and there are no grammar or other issues, so it is writing! Never mind the plot is so repeated in the history of books that it is nothing new. Frankly, if I had read what the book was about, I would never have been interested. It was only the cover that pulled me towards itself. Great cover, by the way.

The book may for teenagers, as noted, especially those who are into fashion and celebs, which I am so not into. Possibly another reason why I didn’t like the book so much. Another was, that even if I get past all the fashion, the book is terribly predictable, each move, each theme has been gone into endless times by endless books. It doesn’t give something new. There is no humor, as I saw it. I didn’t smile even once during the whole book. Some characters were too nice to believe actually, really filmy sort. So if you are into fantasy and fashion, this may be the book for you. If not, stay away.

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

