Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman

Summary: It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My view: I wanted to read this book ever since it won the GR YA fiction award. It must be good if it has won an award and everyone’s raving about it, right? Wrong.

This book was a disappointment. A part of it may be because I don’t listen to rock music and bands of the kind. But it would be a very small part. I can adjust a few things if others are perfect. But they weren’t.

The book is supposed to be this sort of romantic-drama-thriller where you should speculate about where she went and why. The romance part seems OK. The drama I didn’t like. And a thriller based merely on that point makes no story to me. A good thing is that the book is short which encouraged me to just finish it up rather than abandon it midway.

I don’t like books where nothing happens and a person just keeps speculating about what happened. That should be a part of the plot, not the whole plot. The book seems baseless when there’s nothing to look forward to except where she went. How long can you keep driving around without reaching your destination? Even 122 pages seem long because there’s nothing happening in the book.

I know others have adored this book but personally it didn’t appeal to me for its lack of plot. The reason that was told in the end was not satisfactory enough and even bizarre to some extent.

In all, I haven’t read the first book but since this was the most praised one, I don’t think I am reading the next if ever there is a next.

The only reason I’m giving it two stars is that it wasn’t completely wild or baseless to score a 1.

2 thoughts on “Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman

  1. I’ve read the books in the opposite order. I read If I Stay a couple of months ago and thought it was a great book, just not the type I give 5 stars for (I think it deserved 4 stars).

    I know what you mean about the ‘plotless’ element. You keep WAITING for something to happen. I even mentioned in my review that 70% of the book was spent in flashbacks. The result of this was half-half pos/neg. The characters were sooo well developed. But maybe too much. I knew the characters like I do my own friends, but I was still waiting for the story to get started. But I enjoyed her writing, the characters (as mentioned), and loved what I did see of the plot.

    I read ‘All I Ever Wanted’ by Vikki Wakefield a few months ago and just got to interview her yesterday (link on my blog here: http://wp.me/p1WPf3-6r). Her book is another short one — at 208 pages, it’s almost a novella/novel. But she’s an example of stunning writing yet it doesn’t take away from the story, a plot that weaves and turns yet grips onto you and well-developed characters. I loved it. 5/5.

    Anyway, enough gushing from me. Liked If I Stay. Want to read Where She Went. Thrilled by All I Ever Wanted. 🙂

    Like

    • You’ve indeed read in the right order. I hadn’t heard of If I Stay but everyone was gushing so much about Where She Went that I thought I must give it a read. Others have loved it but somehow it just wasn’t my style. The characters were OK but there has to be a plot.

      I will check out All I Ever Wanted since you are raving so much about it. 😀

      I think you will like Where She Went because everyone who liked the first one, loved this.

      Thanks for checking out my blog!

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

