Looking for Alaska by John Green

Summary: Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words – and tired of his safe life at home. He leaves for boarding school to seek what the dying poet Francois Rabelais called the “Great Perhaps.” Much awaits Miles at Culver Creek, including Alaska Young. Clever, funny, screwed-up, and dead sexy, Alaska will pull Miles into her labyrinth and catapult him into the Great Perhaps.

Looking for Alaska brilliantly chronicles the indelible impact one life can have on another. A stunning debut, it marks John Green’s arrival as an important new voice in contemporary fiction.

My view: Wow wow wow! You know what took me so long to finish this book? I wanted to read it till it finished because it was so good but that was also the reason why I didn’t want to finish it (because it was SO good). Ah, the irony! I went looking for nothing and found everything in this book.

This is my first audio book and my, my, what a great start. I don’t think I’m letting go of audio books now, not after this! The edition I listened to was narrated by John Green himself and it was great. I have been told Will Grayson is the best but well, I have no idea about that.

There isn’t a single flaw with this book, except may be a long latter half, but that isn’t a flaw actually. I enjoyed that too.

And oh, I love Alaska! I wish she was my friend. The characters are so well developed that you know them inside out, you are there with them, they are your best friends. (It could also be an adverse effect of an audio book, though. 😉 )

The plot is innovative and amazing. I like the characteristics of the characters in there, so special, making each one the hero of the story. Colonel with his remembering of the capitals of states, Pudge with remembering last words. Ah, beautiful.

The story moves from fun to sadness in the latter half and to tell the truth, I was shattered. I just couldn’t believe it. I was mourning with the others. Alas, there was nothing anyone could do about it (except for John Green). But the book was engaging from page 1 till the very end.

In a long, long time has come a book like this. No wonder this is my favorite book of the year 2011. What a great finish to the year with this book. Amazing! Can’t wait to see the movie (but I know I would be disappointed, movies never do justice to books, except P.S. I love you, may be).

This book is recommended for everyone. Give this as a gift to yourself this Christmas, if you haven’t read it already. And my advice is get the audio book version.

5/5 stars – amazing book. Must read!

4 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska by John Green

  1. Have you read An Abudance of Katherines? It was so deliciously geeky. The author and his brother once did a year of video messages to each other on YouTube; they were so charming!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

