Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

Summary: “I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

My views: A very- very cute book and a good read for holidays/ Christmas season. Dash and Lily’s book of dares is a small and light book, fluffy (as someone mentioned it). It has a new theme, a plot. The characters are very well developed and I could identify with both Dash and Lily, I smiled with them, felt sad. Although, the book tends to have lots of BIG words, I would recommend the book for teenagers. Not only is the book fun and playful, but it also has quite a depth to it. Some of the quotes and lines make one think about life and its deeper meaning, not bad for a seemingly YA read.

I loved Lily, her carelessness and how she was different from everyone else. I love Dash, his love for OED (Oxford English Dictionary, unabridged). I also loved Boomer, his stupid acts and words create a hilarious scenario although in real life, they may be termed irritating. And above all, I absolutely loved Great-aunt Ida, what a lady! I wish I had such a fun aunt.

The concept of a dare book is lovely and enticing, if I wasn’t this 24 year old lady (engaged to be married), I would have loved to try it. What an adventure it would be! But what if it wasn’t a young guy but an old pervert who found the book of dare, risky proposition to be taken up in real life. Books are another world entirely.

In all, a great read. Recommended for teenagers and YA readers. Must-read in holiday season.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

