Love Lifted Me (A Songbird Novel) by Sara Evans, Rachel Hauck

Goodreads Summary: Jade never knew happily-ever-after would be this messy, loud . . . delicious.

Jade Benson embraces unexpected motherhood when her husband Max gains custody of his young son. As she and Max work out their newly formed family, an invitation to coach Texas high school football sends them on a journey.

Then a stranger reveals a painful secret, and Jade faces her hardest challenge yet. When she surrenders her heart to God and to her husband, Jade discovers the joy of love lifting her above her fears.

My view: Well, this book is about Faith. A little too much, may be. It has a plot, yes but it is usual and predictable. Nothing new to boast of. Jade, a strong lady who has been through a lot has still so much to suffer. Max who overcomes every obstacle with his faith in God. And how they together make a life.
The book is a drag, really. I read on just in order to get it over with. If not for the review requested from me, I would have abandoned this book long ago. It’s just not worth it. Too much of Faith in there, but its talked about rather than shown. I prefer seeing God’s way rather than talking about it all the time. It seems so superficial. The football parts were lost on me. I love football as a game, really. But I love watching not reading about it.

In all, the book leaves you with nothing. Even if it had been a simple story, it would have worked. But it isn’t and so it doesn’t.

One thought on “Love Lifted Me (A Songbird Novel) by Sara Evans, Rachel Hauck

  1. Hi,

    Apologies for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact email for you.

    I recently put out an ebook of my writing, called ‘The New Death and others’. It’s a collection of short pieces, mostly dark fantasy.

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a review on your blog.

    If so, please email me: news@apolitical.info. Let me know what file format is easiest for you, and I’ll send you a free copy.

    You can download a sample from the ebook’s page on Smashwords:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92126

    I’m also happy to do interviews, guest posts, or giveaways. Just let me know what you’d prefer.

    Yours,
    James.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

