Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Buy it on Amazon here (Click this link)

Goodreads Summary: Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

This book is read as a part of

(Click on the image to know more.)

My Views: Don’t you just love the cover? I do.

As mentioned on the first page of the book, it brought darkness and cold in the form of rain to my place. Sort of eerie but perfect weather to read it in.

Alright, my almost-first paranormal read (if you ignore Eclipse and Breaking Dawn) and it started off really well, taking me into it. However, somewhere down the line, I lost track and would have abandoned it if I didn’t have the paperback in my hand. And am I relieved it was? Absolutely. It only got better from there. Although it wasn’t a quick read like my usual reads but I had to finish it in 24 hours for totally other reasons. And finish, I did. It was a sort of mystery book, considering the fact that there were so many layers to unfold, so much to know.

There was this funny element also that I could relate to – a wish used to turn off the light switch so she didn’t have to get out of bed: lazy, so familiar. 😀

I loved the way the book was structured, moving in from present to past to present again, yet so fluidly that there was no break, no feeling of irritation at what was happening. It was all so stark clear.

But most of all what I loved was the language, the mellifluous flow of it all. The charm, the beauty, the music in the way words were woven- the pure poetic artistry of it all. So beautiful, charming and meaningful.

Some examples-

“__ wished she could be the kind of girl who was complete unto herself, comfortable in solitude, serene. She craved a presence beside her, solid. Someone who would wait with an umbrella to walk her home in the rain, and smile like sunshine when he saw her coming. Who would dance with her on her balcony, keep his promises and know her secrets, and make a tiny world wherever he was, with just her and his arms and his whisper and her trust.”

“A wish plagued by the notion that she wasn’t whole. It’s like you’re standing in the kitchen, and you know you went in there for a reason, but you can’t think of what that reason is, no matter what.”

“Battle not with monsters lest you become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you – Neitzsche”

“To stay true in the face of evil is a feat of strength.”

And lastly, my favorites-

“The only hope is…hope. You don’t need tokens for it- it’s in your heart or nowhere.”

“Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there’s no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic.”

“The tendrils of an idea were unfurling in the deep reaches of his mind.” Ahhh… I love this one.

I wonder if and when this would be made into a movie, I would love to watch it, my imagination has its limits.

You have read my review, if you love paranormal, go get it now. If you don’t, give it a try. Who knows like me, you may like it.

4/5 stars – I really liked it.

Buy it on Amazon here (Click this link)

6 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

    • Oh I really adored the writing too. 🙂 And that cover, oh my, I read this book in an around-the-world thing with the book passing from one to other and I did NOT want to let go of it! 😀

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

