Lord of Hawkfell Island by Catherine Coulter

Goodreads summary:
Rorik is a Viking warrior, as fierce and savage as the North Sea during the winter solstice. Mirana is a Viking woman who loves birds, is more ingenious than most men, and loyal down to her toes. Her life changes utterly one fateful day when Rorik and his men come to Clontarf, a Viking fortress on the eastern coast of Ireland, to kill her half-brother. But she is the one taken as hostage to use as a pawn against him.

Rorik is the Lord of Hawkfell, an island off the east cost of Britain. The moment he brings his captive home, it seems that everything begins to fly out his control. The women are out to teach the men a lesson with the result that food is rank, Rorik’s family is out for Mirana’s blood, a murderer is on a loose, and a huge mongrel, Kerzog, dotes not only on his master but also on his master’s captive.

Rorik and Mirana are two strong-willed people, ardent in their opinions, who will have you rooting for both of them equally.

You will discover who really rules Hawkfell Island.

My views: Well, I found this book left in the hostel room that I was to occupy. I was excited that I had found a book, no matter what it was. Even though the cover and title told me it wasn’t a sort of book I would normally read. So the book occupied my shelf for 2 full years before I ran out of paperback books and decided to give it a chance. I read the first few pages and thought to give it away, it just wasn’t my kind of book. But something made me read on and I am so glad I did.

Either the book turned out to be my kind or my preference changed but I ended up loving the book. The characters are very well developed. I fell in love with Mirana, a strong headed woman, beauty, brain and brawn, what a combination! The plot is well built and never slows down. This is a swift moving action-romance book. There were quite a few surprises in the book. And it also has lot of great humor thrown in. In all, a complete package. A surprise hit book. I would check out other books by the author now.

4/5 stars – I really liked it

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

