The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Goodreads Summary: Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

My views: Here’s my first February read. I started and finished this yesterday in a 4:30 hours reading marathon that kept me awake till wee hours of the morning.

And what do I have to say? A deep, deep *sigh*. Nothing else? No. Not yet.

This book reminded me so much of Looking for Alaska. Isn’t it just like that? No, it isn’t.

Although I did fell in love with Hazel like I did with Alaska. John Green sure has strong female characters in his book and speaks through them (in the first person, I mean).

The book is kind of sad, it made me cry in the end (no, I don’t usually end up crying while reading a book. A movie makes me cry but a book, not often).

But like his other book (pardon me, for I have only read Looking for Alaska till now), this one’s cute too. However, I always wonder why every hero/female hero in the book is always so gorgeous, good looking and hot. I mean not all people are good looking. Do only good looking people get place in stories and books? What about real, normal looking people? Anyway, I am digressing from the topic.

The book was good but not the Looking for Alaska kind of good. I didn’t not want it to end, or got addicted or couldn’t stop reading. None of those. It was OK.

The plot was new, John Green style. The characters were marvelous and you fall in love with them. Gus, too. (another character).

The theme is a bit sad but it’s part of the book, the good part.

The John Green philosophy is all there.

I didn’t relish so much some part of the letter writing because it simply exceeded my meager understanding capacity.

A good read but don’t read when you are sad. The book itself is sad but not the writing, just the theme. 😉

In all, the book is a 3.5/5 – somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’.

Buy it at The Book Depository- Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

or at Amazon The Fault in Our Stars

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

