Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Goodreads Summary: Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur. Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger.…Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her…

My Views: Oh I adored this cute chick-lit book. It had lots of humor, fun and action in it. What a lovely book to curl up with for some laughs and good moments. It did remind me of “The Confessions of a shopaholic” and I think this would make into a good movie too. Is there a movie that I don’t know about? That happens to me a lot.

I’m sure you would love this book if you can ignore minor silliness and few exaggerations. Of course, that’s all a part of a chick-lit. I found myself giggling at quite a few places. I loved the character of Emma, it’s so colorful.

Though the book was a bit long (400 pages) and there were things I think the book could have done without, but never mind.

In all, curl up with this one on a cold, wintery, gloomy day and you will end up smiling by the end.

3.5/5 stars – Somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’.

Buy it here- The Book Depository

AMAZON
(Click the links to buy)

12 thoughts on “Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Sophie Kinsella is one of my FAVORITE writers… the Shopaholic series are so cute, but after like the 3rd one they get a little repetitive. How many times can one person blow tons of money and get in trouble?! But they’re still cute, nonetheless! I know I’ve read this one before and I think I really liked it, but I can’t remember anything about it! This calls for a re-read!

    Like

  2. Nice review 🙂
    Have you read any other Kinsella books? I have her Confessions of a Shopaholic but haven’t read it due to my friends saying it isn’t worth the read (strange considering they love these types of books) then I see others who love them,,,but I don’t often see as many “in between” people so it’s nice to see a review with pros and cons 🙂 I might give this one a try one day.

    Like

    • I have only read “The Confessions of a Shopaholic”. I read it after I watched the movie though. I don’t remember how it was exactly but overall I was pleased with the book and I gave it 4 stars. So it should be good to go, I think. Have you seen the movie? If you liked it, you would like the book too. Just don’t expect much sanity or ‘real’ness. Sit back and just have fun. 😀

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

