The Last Beginning by Rachel Firasek


Goodreads Summary: CURSE OF THE PHOENIX – Book Three – by Rachel Firasek

Though she’s always hated being a phoenix, Sadie has to admit immortality has its advantages. She’s seen and done more in the last 150 years than she’d ever dreamed of, but she can’t get past the fact that Osiris has done nothing but manipulate her and her fellow phoenixes. Or that, when her last incarnation as a phoenix comes to a fiery end, the fire slowly begins to consume her body.

Sun god Osiris is ashamed of his role as ruler of the Underworld, but unless he can figure out how to save Sadie, that’s exactly where she’s going to end up.

Permanently. Terrified he’s going to lose her, he takes her on a hunt for The Book of the Dead, which is the only way he knows he can save her—even if it means she’ll hate him forever.

My views: OK, first things first, I love the cover. Secondly, this is the third book in the series but I haven’t read the first two. That doesn’t really faze me out since every book in the series should stand by on its own. And this one does too, except I was a bit confused in the beginning and had to cautiously step into the book.

Well, this book is about fantasy and though I am not too big a fan of this genre, I liked this book fairly well. It has a plot to keep you occupied, there is enough stuff to trigger your imagination. I kept visualizing all the places and the Gods and all.

The beginning of the story is really well done, it lures you in. And I think that should be the first basis of a writing. There are so many books that are supposed to get good later on but since I don’t like how it begins, I end up abandoning it.

Having said all that, some things didn’t appeal to me (though they could have been changed in the final version). I couldn’t imagine a God’s life-love wearing a tank top and jeans. It just plays havoc with all my imagination. Also, thinking of a God in jeans and another one saying ‘guys’. Umm, it doesn’t work for me. It completely shatters my becoming one with the fantastical creations.

I so wish that there was more in the book except the God yearning for his maiden and trying to save her. I don’t know what but something more.

In all, a quick read that is good enough for a one-time read.

I am torn between a 2.5 and a 3. OK I will give it-

3 stars- I liked it.

Source: NetGalley

Disclaimer: I got this book for free from NetGalley but all the opinions are mine. I did not receive any compensation for my review.

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

