Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Goodreads Summary: From the Booker Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day comes a devastating new novel of innocence, knowledge, and loss. As children Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were.

Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special–and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together. Suspenseful, moving, beautifully atmospheric, Never Let Me Go is another classic by the author of The Remains of the Day.

My Views: It took me a while to understand what exactly was going on in this book. The concept of the book was entirely new to me, I have never read something like this before. I must applaud the author for delving into such an unconventional and new plot. But having said that, this book wasn’t my cup of tea. You ask why? It was too slow read, nothing happens. You keep waiting that something would happen but nothing does. It is that kind of a book. And since I am such a mystery/ thriller lover which are so fast-paced, this one lost its charm for me. I slogged through the book in the hope that something new would come up. But nothing did.

Also, something kept bugging at me throughout the reading phase. I am not sure but it could be the author’s way of narrating. Of recalling something, then in order to make it clear, recalling within the recalling. Ugh, I don’t like that!

Another thing that did not suit me was that the book is written in the first person. I am not particularly against that kind of writing. But I didn’t think it was suitable for this one. I wanted to get inside each character’s mind and not just the narrator’s. So even when the book ended, I felt it incomplete.

This was a Booker award nominee and other people have loved it. So you may like it, but it didn’t work out for me.

2.5/5 stars – somewhere between ‘It was OK’ and ‘I liked it’.

6 thoughts on “Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

  1. Thanks. I’ve wondered if this book would be my taste and it seems like I’m a lot like you. I might leave this at the bottom of my to read pile (A.K.A I have so many books to read that this will never get read).

    Like

    • Well, I give so many different kinds of book a chance. And though this one was difficult to finish, I did it simply because I hate abandoning books in between. But if you are anything like me, you are doing good by steering clear! After all, there are so many good books to read.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

