Charlie and the chocolate factory by Roald Dahl

Goodreads Summary: Willy Wonka’s famous chocolate factory is opening at last, and only five lucky children will be allowed inside. But what they find is even wilder than any of the wild rumors they’ve heard!

My Views: I picked this book from my library. I wanted to read this one and then watch the movie. It’s so refreshing to read children’s books once in a while.

Well, this is a pretty book. I loved the sketches by Quentin Blake. Roald Dahl is the master of imagination, isn’t he? Not only does he come up with a great plot but he also comes up with new words! Amazing! This is such a perfect bedtime read for your children over many days. And I loved the Oompa-Loompas! What an amazing word! And they look so cute. Quentin Blake, you are a child’s delight. The book wouldn’t have been as good without all those pretty sketches.

I also loved getting to know Roald Dahl from the pages in the end. He had such peculiar habits. Did you know he always wrote with a pencil, a very particular kind of yellow pencil with a rubber on the end. Also, he only wrote on American yellow legal pads and had a bonfire with the wastepaper. He had a writing hut which was never cleaned.

In short, get this book for your children, nephew, niece and everyone else. Highly recommended.

Now, I am off to watch the movie. I have been told the 1971 version is better than the new one. What do you think?

5/5 stars – I loved it, it was amazing.

8 thoughts on “Charlie and the chocolate factory by Roald Dahl”

  1. Lovely review! I also am feeling nostalgic after reading this. I loved Charlie and the chocolate factory! as i did most of Roald Dahl’s books. You guys should check out his many other gems, here’s a good reading list to get you started – Dahl Books.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

