Fine Cooking Comfort Food by Fine Cooking Magazine

Goodreads Summary: Serve up delicious, soul-satisfying food any night of the week with this new recipe collection from Fine Cooking. Among the 200 favorites are classics like meatloaf, beef stew, and macaroni and cheese as well as modern updates and ethnic specialties such as Thai curry, Moroccan vegetable ragout, and Brazilian chicken and shrimp. Cooks will gain confidence and get great results every time thanks to Fine Cookingโ€™s signature tips and secrets from the pros, step-by-step photos to help master techniques, ingredient profiles, shortcuts, and handy kitchen advice. Fine Cooking Comfort Food serves up one delicious cookbook.

My Views: For all you cooking enthusiasts out there, I bring you to you *ta-da* ‘Fine cooking comfort food’. Ok, don’t think too much about the title, I don’t like it too. But the book, that’s another story.

This book is your one-stop shop for all the goodies you plan to cook in your kitchen. First off, it’s not at all boring. It’s so colorful and beautiful that I can’t get my eyes off the pictures.

Ya, ya, you want me to talk about what’s cooking. Well, lots, 200 to be precise. You heard it right. This book contains 200 recipes that include soups, stews, pastas, casseroles, breakfast/ brunch, sandwiches, sides and desserts. What in the world are you going to cook that this book does not have?

Alright, a warning, it contains both vegetarian and non-vegetarian recipes. I know most of you are cool with that but I just wanted to let you know.

So what’s different, you ask? There are too many cookbooks out there. Hmm..

For one, it is a very neat book. The ingredients and recipes are lined side by side, making it easier for you to glance back and forth instead of turning the pages while cooking and putting your dirty hands on this book.

And then, if you are calorie conscious or health freak enthusiast, after each recipe, the number of calories, fat, protein, carb and all other mineral quantities are noted.

Now since I have this big sweet tooth, I automatically flipped the pages until desserts arrived. One look at the picture of ‘Classic carrot cake with vanilla cream cheese frosting’ and ah, I went to heaven. Ok, ok, I’m coming back!

And wow, it even teaches you how to ice a cake. I know most of you will be looking at me with your eyebrows shot, but I’m sorry, I’m really bad at icing. It’s not like I can’t boil water, it’s icing, and one needs to be perfect. Ahem, ahem, *shifts collar*.

The step by step account, easy and enough pictures to die for guide you, this book is a gem for all of you out there. It has basic recipes to some difficult ones too. So, there is always something for everyone to cook.

And I love the cute little boxes, that have great tips, from dressing, to making dough without a food processor to how to get brownies out of the pan. Marvellous!

Oh my God, I just had a look at the “Real Chocolate Mousse” and I’m out of here and into the kitchen.

5/5 stars – I loved it. Totally get your hands on this.

Disclaimer: I got this book free from NetGalley in exchange of my honest review. This has not influenced my review in any way.

6 thoughts on “Fine Cooking Comfort Food by Fine Cooking Magazine”

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

