Interview & Giveaway: Aimee Laine, author of Hide & Seek

Hi everyone! Let’s welcome Aimee Laine, the author of Mimics of Rune series. After Little White Lies (1) and Into the Unknown (1.5), the second one in the series, Surrender (2) is coming up on September 4. Remember my Cover Reveal? But well, September is so far off. No problem.

Aimee Laine has written a new series and the first one was out on March 1st 2012. It’s titled Hide & Seek (Games of Zeus #1). And apart from the cover being totally delicious, the book is being loved by everyone out there. Let’s talk to her!

Me: You call yourself a workerbee. Can you elaborate on that?

Aimee: Absolutely. I work full-time in a ‘real’ job, which pays the bills. I’m also an entrepreneur and own my own business (have for 6 years). I also have to ‘work’ around the house – can you say Mom-is-Maid? So I’m a workerbee … just like the regular ‘ole honey bees who just keep on plugging away, doing what’s necessary to make life keep going.

Me: You have an MBA and a degree in Applied Mathematics!! (mind-boggling) What are you doing writing away? How and when did writing enter your life?

Aimee: My mathematics degree came because I wanted to graduate in 4 years and in the middle of my 4 years, I decided to change my major. I needed something and I’d taken SO many math courses, it was a no-brainer to get finished.

I went back to get my MBA because I have that entrepreneurial spirit. I wanted to own my own business, understand business and enhance my position in corporate america (aka the ‘real’ job).

So, one day, I quit corporate America and ventured out on my own. Unfortunately, economic factors called me back TO corporate America, but not before I’d said, one day, “I want to write a book.” And I did.

That was 11 books ago.

Me: Wow! You are a multi-tasker! What kind of photography you find yourself most drawn to?

Aimee: I AM A HUGE multi-tasker. 🙂 There isn’t an activity/day that goes by that I am doing it and it alone. That comes with being a Project Manager/People Manager in my real job as well as being a writer (in my real job, too) and needing to play multiple hats.

As for my photography … I am a people photographer. I LOVE LOVE LOVE to show relationships. How fitting given what I write is romance which is also showing relationships.

Me: Is there anything you need in order to write? (a place, food item etc.)

Aimee: Just my Macbook Pro. Me and my computer. That’s it.

Me: How many books do you read a week/month? What is the last book you read?

Aimee: The last book I read was a Don’t Bite the Messenger by Regan Summers. I read 1-2 books a week, but many, many, many of those are unpublished manuscripts for friends. Sometimes, I read them 2 or more times as they go through their beta/editing/final phases.

Me: What is one book you think everyone should read?

Aimee: Mine.

Me: You are a romantic at heart. Does it show in Hide & Seek?

Aimee: When you read the end, I’d like you to tell me if it shows. Just you wait. 🙂

Me: With three kids, how do you find the time to write? Some tips please.

Aimee: Ha! People ask me how I can work, be a photographer, be a writer, be a Mom. It all comes to multi-tasking and priorities. I give them my time when they need me. But my kids are a little older (14, 7 and 7) so it’s not like I need to be changing diapers or anything. They are very independent. But again, when they need me, I’m there. For example, my son was sick with pneumonia in February and we ended up in the ER. I took my laptop. For the 2 HOURS that we waited doing nothing and he dozed, I wrote. It’s all about not wasting any available time.

Me: Hats off to you, Aimee! Any book you are eagerly awaiting for in 2012?

Aimee: Mine. Oh, you mean others? Yes. A friend’s novel, Crux, comes out in July and while I’ve already read it, it ROCKS. It’s a YA Urban Fantasy. Truly awesome.

Me: Are you working on something new?

Aimee: Always! My alter-ego, Emi Gayle, is writing the 3rd in The 19th Year Trilogy – A YA urban fantasy/paranormal romance. The first comes out in October, 2012. But the third is the end and it’s been tough to write. So far it’s taking me longer than any other book I’ve written. The longest was 75 days. The shortest, 21. This one is already at 45 days, but only 1/3 through. I LOVE the story though and the characters and the promise of the end. After that, I’ll be editing the 2nd book in the Games of Zeus series and writing the third in the Mimics of Rune.

Me: If you are asked to write in a genre other than what you write, what would it be?

Aimee: I’d be writing mystery/thrillers. Many of my romances are almost closer to that than romances. And I LOVE a good thriller. Wait ’til you can read JC Martin’s Oracle. I just did and it’s fabulous.

Me: Can you give suggestions as to who would love Hide & Seek?

Aimee: Anyone who loves romance with a twist on Greek Mythology is number one. Anyone who loves Alpha males, magic, mystery and thriller/suspense where romance is the cause and effect.

Me: Thank you so much, Aimee for being at Reviewing Shelf today!

 

Buy Hide & Seek at Amazon or J.Taylor Publishing. Add it on Goodreads and discuss it here.

 

Find Aimee Laine on Goodreads, her Blog, Twitter & Facebook. And if like me, you love photography, check out her site. Ooh, I love it!

 

Giveaway

Aimee is graciously giving away an e-copy of Hide & Seek. Open Internationally. You want to win it? Enter HERE.

 

Here’s a little of Hide & Seek

Lie, cheat or steal, no one can catch Tripp Fox. Except one woman.

Lexi Shepherd’s knack for finding whatever is asked of her isn’t sheer luck. It’s a gift from the Greek god Zeus.

That Lexi doesn’t use her ability to search for “Mr. Right” comes from one of many personal rules she has set for herself. Number one is not to let fate dictate her future.

Falling in love with Tripp breaks all the others.

Despite her principles, Lexi’s unable to stay away from the bad boy, and she finds herself toeing the grey line of the law for him.

Zeus, though, didn’t give Lexi and Tripp their talents to make their relationship a simple, easy alliance. He designed it to be exactly the opposite. Impossible. Always.

With their separation, Lexi expects Tripp to forfeit love in favor of destiny. He, on the other hand, intends to beat Zeus at his own game. With a plan in place, Tripp challenges Lexi to take the one action no one else can.

Find him.

The question isn’t can she … but will she?

Ooh, the book sounds really amazing! What do you think?

10 thoughts on “Interview & Giveaway: Aimee Laine, author of Hide & Seek

  1. Filia Oktarina says:

    This one sounds interesting, it look like i will add in my tbr list. love cover to. Thanks for the interview and giveaway!!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Pragya! You’re awesome for posting and hosting a giveaway! I’ll stop by occasionally in case anyone has any questions about Hide & Seek. I’m happy to answer them!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

