The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Title: The Name of the Star (Shades of London)
Author: Maureen Johnson
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Publishing Date: September 29, 2011
Source: Library
ISBN-10: 0399256601

Summary:THE DAY Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city — gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific work of Jack the Ripper in the autumn of 1888. Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was with her at the time, didn’t notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, what is he planning to do about her? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.

Buy it Here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

My Views: This one was…different, I would say. It was slow to start with, and then rapidly gathered speed. I love mysteries, I do. And I was really looking forward to solving this one (or let it solve itself, as the case is, in a book).

But…yes there is a but, I did not expect what really happened. Though that is usually good in a mystery, the unpredictability, I wished that it would have been something else and not what happened.

I give the author credit for this very novel concept and the manner in which the writing has been handled. Smooth, easy to follow, and exciting. And the end was explosive, literally. LOL!

The book makes for a fast read like all mystery and thrillers and was glued to it though I wished it was like that from the start and till the very end. The middle of the book was my favorite part when something had happened and it was all so secretive and who-done-it type.

The book makes for a good reading overall.

3/5 stars – I liked it.

4 thoughts on “The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson”

  1. I’ve had this book checked out from the library for the past 2 weeks…I just haven’t read it yet. Glad to see a review on it! I might just pull it off my shelf of “to be read” and read it! 🙂

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

