Slide by Jill Hathaway

Title: Slide #1
Author: Jill Hathaway
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: March 27, 2012
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062077902
Source: My Book Shelf

Goodreads Summary: Vee Bell is certain of one irrefutable truth—her sister’s friend Sophie didn’t kill herself. She was murdered.

Vee knows this because she was there. Everyone believes Vee is narcoleptic, but she doesn’t actually fall asleep during these episodes: When she passes out, she slides into somebody else’s mind and experiences the world through that person’s eyes. She’s slid into her sister as she cheated on a math test, into a teacher sneaking a drink before class. She learned the worst about a supposed “friend” when she slid into her during a school dance. But nothing could have prepared Vee for what happens one October night when she slides into the mind of someone holding a bloody knife, standing over Sophie’s slashed body.

Vee desperately wishes she could share her secret, but who would believe her? It sounds so crazy that she can’t bring herself to tell her best friend, Rollins, let alone the police. Even if she could confide in Rollins, he has been acting off lately, more distant, especially now that she’s been spending more time with Zane.

Enmeshed in a terrifying web of secrets, lies, and danger and with no one to turn to, Vee must find a way to unmask the killer before he or she strikes again.

Buy it here: AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Add it on Goodreads

My Views: First off, I love the cover. It totally captured me!

I was hooked to this book within the first few pages, so much so that I didn’t want to sleep before I finish reading it. It was simply mind-blowing.

The concept is novel and not too paranormal to veer me away from it. I wanted to know what would happen next. The writing is simple and crisp. The characters nicely etched out. And kudos to the author for the concept.

Till mid-length, the book is amazing and I thought it would be taking a place in my favorites shelf, but that was not to be. After the first half, the book went downhill for me. There was too much going on, a few inconsistencies or lapses here and there. I like my mysteries sharp and clean. And though this one kept me guessing till a fairly good point, the mystery didn’t do it for me. It raised too many questions that couldn’t be answered by the book.

The book was so good to begin with and it just frustrates me that the mystery wasn’t good enough in the end. This book had the beginnings of a really good book but in the end it turned out to be just average for me. However, since this is the author’s first book, I find it to be a good enough start and would love to read her future books.

3/5 stars – I liked it.

4 thoughts on “Slide by Jill Hathaway

  1. I can’t stop looking at the cover, I agree it is really captivating.
    Maybe it’s because it’s the first in a series that you didn’t like it as much. I often find that’s the case when it comes to YA titles that are the first in the series.
    Hopefully I can read it soon, it isn’t too long so it looks like a quick easy read.
    As always another good review 🙂

    Like

    • I am one of those who would read a book for the love of a cover. 😉 And this one fits in that.

      Oh, the first half is superb but being a mystery lover, this book couldn’t satisfy me in that aspect. But if that’s the thing about the first not being as good. It sucks. Because I don’t feel like reading the next, if the first one didn’t come up to my expectations. 😦

      Thank you for visiting and commenting. 🙂

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

