Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

Title: Imaginary Girls
Author: Nova Ren Suma
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Dutton Books
Publishing Date: June 14, 2011
ISBN-10: 0525423389
Source: American Center Library

Goodreads Summary: Chloe’s older sister, Ruby, is the girl everyone looks to and longs for, who can’t be captured or caged. When a night with Ruby’s friends goes horribly wrong and Chloe discovers the dead body of her classmate London Hayes left floating in the reservoir, Chloe is sent away from town and away from Ruby.

But Ruby will do anything to get her sister back, and when Chloe returns to town two years later, deadly surprises await. As Chloe flirts with the truth that Ruby has hidden deeply away, the fragile line between life and death is redrawn by the complex bonds of sisterhood.

With palpable drama and delicious craft, Nova Ren Suma bursts onto the YA scene with the story that everyone will be talking about.

Buy it here- AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Add it on Goodreads

My Views: Phew, I’m done with this book. What took me so long to tread through it? For one, this book is a classic case of ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’. I mean, oh my gosh, look at that cover. I loved it, I still love it. I am a sucker for beautiful covers. This book should teach me a lesson. I’m glad this book was available in the library and I didn’t end up buying it for that cover.

The book begins a bit intriguingly while you try to make sense of what is going on. And it is good for the beginning. But unfortunately this is the pattern throughout the book where you keep trying to make sense of all that’s happening.

Then there comes a point when you feel like giving up on the book, you just can’t go on. But if you are an optimistic like me who feels that perhaps something would happen in the end or if like me you hate to leave books unfinished, you will go on reading. But if you are anything like me, stay away. This book is not for you as it wasn’t for me. My hopes were dashed, nothing happened in the end.

It’s such a fantastical little story which makes you try to get your head around the story. And I hated it. The way it began was good enough and I wish it had taken a different turn. I could not identify with the characters one bit and there were too many questions floating around. If you are much into fantasy and believe in the non-believable, pick up this book but at your own risk.

1/5 stars – I didn’t like it.

10 thoughts on “Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma”

  1. I’ve heard a lot of not-so-great things about this book. And such a shame, like you said, it has such a lovely cover. Don’t worry though, I’m a sucker for beautiful covers too and it sometimes bites me in the butt. That being said, thank you for warning me off this one! I will make sure to steer clear and avert my eyes from its beauty, haha.

    Like

  2. Oh no! That sucks and I’m quite sad to hear it. I’ve been looking forward to this one and I agree; based on the cover it looks fantastic! I’m still not sure if I’ll be taking it off my to-read pile or not, but I’ll definitely not rush to get to it. :/ That sucks to hear! Great review, though.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

