News – The good, the bad and the good.

Hey guys! I hope you all are doing great.

It’s not often that I bore you with the details of my life, so if I am doing that now, you better pay attention. I have some news to tell you.

First let’s start with the good. I got myself a job. Yay! I had been looking for one since about a month. And after few interviews and negotiations, I finally got one. So this is the good part.

Now about the bad part.

Even though the job is part-time, I will be devoting a lot of time to commuting. And when I say a lot, it deciphers into 4-5 hours. Yes, I will be commuting for 4-5 hours daily apart from the job hours. Why am I telling you this? Because my hectic schedule will leave me with very less time for reading and even lesser time for reviewing and blog posting. 😦

Now before you get all sad, I am not going anywhere, the blog is still going to be here and I will be reviewing. But the frequency will go down by a lot. I will try to review at least 2 books each week if not more. But well, the time will tell the reality. If need be, I may be on the lookout for a guest blogger in the near future.

In the two days that I have worked so far, I have discovered that I am dead tired by the time I return home. And though I earlier thought the commuting hours will give me more hours to read, it’s not working like that. While going to work, I manage to read for atleast 1.5 hours amidst all the chaos but on my way back, my eyes are too strained to read and I don’t even feel like listening to an audio book. Also, most of my review books are on my laptop and I don’t have an e-reader, so the review requests I am taking will also reduce considerably.

Which brings me to the good part. Yes, I believe in happy endings and my favorite quote is that ‘whatever happens, happens for the best’. I am looking at it this way. The more I work, the sooner I will be able to afford a Kindle and that will lead to more reading than I do on my laptop. So yay!

Alright, that’s it from me. If you are still reading, thank you for your time and for being there for me and my blog. I hope you will continue to give me the support you have so far provided. With that, I am out.

25 thoughts on “News – The good, the bad and the good.

  1. Big congrats on your new job. I will miss your regular updates but I know how much work blogging is. Guess you will have to listen to audiobooks during your commute. Let me know if you need anything 🙂

    Like

    • Writing by hand wouldn’t go so well with me because it doesn’t take me much time to write my reviews, they just flow. 🙂
      But yes, I do try and read the whole time while commuting. I have finished a 350 page book during my 4 days of work. 🙂

      Like

  2. Congrats on the job!!! I’m so happy for you!
    Too bad about the lack of reading time and stuff, I was commuting 3-5 hours a day for school last semester and it sucked. I totally understand about not wanting to read on the way home because of the eye strain and not being able to focus on an audiobook. Hopefully as you get used to it you’ll be less tired 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Kimberly. Yes, I have noticed, some days I have the energy and motivation to read on my way back while on others, I just don’t feel like it.

      So the few days I have been working means Cleopatra’s moon is soon coming to an end. 😀

      Like

    • Yay, right! 🙂 LOL!

      My library doesn’t have audiobooks. I have bought a few. I do listen to them while traveling but since English is my second language, it requires a lot of concentration especially with the accent. And I am dead tired while coming back, concentration goes for a toss. 😦

      Like

  3. katyasozaeva says:

    Gah, that’s a monster commute! The worst I had was for 3 months when I was working in Atlanta (50 miles away, but a good hour and a half to two hours’ commute time due to traffic) and had to drive back and forth each day, and I hated that. I guess it would have been better if I’d been able to take some form of mass transit, but still… Hang in there – working really takes away from one’s reading time. Do what you can, but don’t stress yourself out about it!

    Like

    • Ahh, I can totally understand that. Thankfully, I am not driving, I am taking the metro for the 30 miles that I need to cover each day. But I have to change between metros, then there is the maddening crowd to deal with. Aaaagh, I am giving more than full time hours for a pay of a part time job. I really hate the scenario.

      Thanks for your kind words. I hope not to stress about it. 🙂

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

