The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: The Scorpio Races
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 18, 2011
Pages: 416
ISBN: 054522490X
Source: American Center Library

Goodreads Summary: It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Buy it here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: I had heard many good things about this book before I picked it up from my library. And am I glad I did? Absolutely!

This is a beautiful story, not just about horse races; there is so much more to it.

First off, I have never heard of water horses, yes they are a mythical creature but still…

This book is so much about little things that matter, relationships between siblings, friends. Albeit it’s a slow, long read, something which my fast-pace loving brain had to adjust to, but the wait was worth it, every bit of it.

I finished reading this book in 4 days during my travel time to work. And one day, an elderly man wanted to know what I was reading. I showed him the cover. He nodded. I resumed reading. After a few seconds, he asked what it is about. I didn’t know how much to elaborate, so I said it’s about race horses. He nodded, I resumed reading again. After a few minutes, he said, it must be about how to prepare horses to race. I was a bit surprised. ‘Yes’, I said. What an accurate guess. That’s what the major content of the book is about. Great guessing on his part. I was apprehensive if to go back to reading. I hate being interrupted while reading and this is an interesting read. But the gentleman didn’t say anything after that and I continued reading.

Ok, I just told you that because I remembered it.

I loved Puck and yes, I was surprised after reading a few pages when I got to know something. If you don’t read the book blurb like me, you too will be hopefully surprised. It’s a good one. Made me turn back the pages and reread.

The way Maggie (the author) depicts relationships is very beautiful, so fragile yet so strong. Her writing style is very simple yet powerful.

I loved the plot and the way it has been dealt with. This is the first of its kind story I have read. And I liked it. Hopefully I will be reading the ‘Shiver’ series by Maggie next.

3.5/ 5 stars – Somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’.

5 thoughts on “The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. pageoflovealexa says:

    I have such a weird relationship with Maggie’s books. I didn’t really like her Wolves of Mercy Falls series so I have sort of avoided all other books she has written. I’m not sure if I would like this one but I’m so glad that it captivated you at certain parts.

    Thanks for the great review!

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Alexa.

      I haven’t read Wolves of Mercy Falls series yet but I have been told her writing style is very different from that in Scorpio Races and it’s a more mature book, so probably you should give it a try. Never say never. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hm, the review sounded great and I almost decided to give it a go. I’ve heard mixed reviews. Then I saw your 3.5 stars.

    I was wondering how come you loved it so much but only gave it 3.5 stars. What were the pitfalls?

    Thanks.

    Like

    • The book is great. There are no pitfalls to point out as such. The pace of the book didn’t appeal to me, I love fast-paced books so even if I love a plot and it’s carried out really well, I still wish things happen faster than slow.

      And this is a good book definitely but only for a one time read. I won’t be re-reading it. So I guess that’s why.

      Like

  3. I liked this one as well! I actually listened to it on CD instead of reading it, and I thought the person who read Puck’s part was so perfect for the part and made the character even more likable. Loved the island of Thisby, too. I’m not sure if this is included in the physical book, but there was a section at the end of the audiobook with the author’s comments, and it was really interesting to hear her speak about mythical water horses and how she approached writing about them.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

