Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) by Eoin Colfer

Title: Artemis Fowl
Author: Eoin Colfer
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Paperback: 316 pages
Publisher: Miramax
Publication Date: April 2, 2003
ISBN-10: 0786817879
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads Summary: Twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl is a millionaire, a genius—and, above all, a criminal mastermind. But even Artemis doesn’t know what he’s taken on when he kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit. These aren’t the fairies of bedtime stories—they’re dangerous! Full of unexpected twists and turns, Artemis Fowl is a riveting, magical adventure.


Buy it here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: Since I had heard so many people rave about this series, when I saw it on NetGalley, I thought it was worth a try.

It took me some time to get into the book and then some more to understand what was going on.

The writing style is a bit unfamiliar and also there is a plethora of things one should know. Since I don’t read much paranormal, I’m ignorant of most things that a fairy and otherworldly creatures can do. This made for a difficult reading time for me.

The best part of the book is towards the end when there is much action and less thinking involved. I enjoyed the various technological devices and tricks used by the characters and their clever thinking skills. This makes a keeps-you-on-your-toes kind of thriller because it wants you to concentrate, remember and think. I do like doing that sometimes but too much of it felt like a burden and not enjoyment.

I’m not sure if I will pick up the next book in the series but we’ll see.

3/5 stars – I liked it.

4 thoughts on “Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) by Eoin Colfer

  1. I’m old and I love this series, and am just waiting on the last book to hit paperback to be up todate on all of them (I’m 47 LOL) I don’t know why I like YA books so much, but I really would recommend this series to young adults

    Like

    • That’s so great, Bina. You are young at heart and that’s what really matters. I think I will give the next one a try now, since I am clear on the basics for the most part.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

