The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

Title: The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink
Translator: Carol Brown Janeway
Paperback: 218 pages
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: June 26, 1997
ISBN-10: 0753801728
Source: Delhi Public Library

Goodreads Summary: A powerful and intense tale of secrets and a hidden past, The Reader is a thrilling book. As a 15-year-old boy in postwar Germany, Michael Berg had a passionate affair with a mysterious, guarded woman twice his age that ended suddenly when she disappeared. Years later, Michael sees her again — when she is on trial for a terrible crime.


Buy it here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: Well, I don’t know where to start. This book is short but heavy. Not heavy in terms of weight but heavy in terms of emotions that it carries. With a postwar Germany as its background, what did you expect?

The book starts on a lighter note with a 15 year old boy who happens to meet a woman. And then there’s no looking back.

The book takes you on a journey so unique in itself that you find yourself pondering on it. I got confused a couple of times during the reading and had to re-read what it was about. The book is mysterious, I think I can call it that.

The secrets spill out one by one and everything changes. I don’t want to spill the premise or what happens afterward, so I’m at a loss of what to write.

In all, this book made me think a lot. I don’t think there’s one answer to anything in this book. It will make you agree and disagree with your own thoughts. It will make you want to change things. It will make you emotional and you will speculate to no end.

This will make a wonderful book for a book club. I wish I had someone to discuss it out loud with, this is one of that kind.

I think I loved this one but then again, I’m not sure. LOL! I will have to re-read it sometime soon. I think I will watch the movie too.

3.5/5 stars – Somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’.

11 thoughts on “The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

  1. I love your reviews! I saw a copy of this at Goodwill the other day for .99 and wish I had picked it up! It’s been on my to read list for a while, and after reading your review, I think I might just have to bump it up to the top of my list. 😀

    Like

  2. This book has been on my to-read list for quite a while now. I saw a copy at Goodwill the other day and wish I had picked it up! Your review has definitely made me want to read this as soon as I can! 😀 I love your reviews, btw!

    Like

  3. I watched the movie a couple of year’s ago. Kate Winslett was wonderful. The main character you dislike her and admire her at the same time, it was an interesting story, I hope you watch it.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

