Stay with Me by Paul Griffin

Goodreads Summary: An urban romance that will capture your soul, break your heart, and restore your faith in the human spirit.

Fifteen-year-olds Cece and Mack didn’t expect to fall in love. She’s a sensitive A student; he’s a high school dropout. But soon they’re spending every moment together, bonding over a rescued dog, telling their secrets, making plans for the future. Everything is perfect. Until. Until. Mack makes a horrible mistake, and in just a few minutes, the future they’d planned becomes impossible. In this stark new reality, both of them must find meaning and hope in the memories of what they had, to survive when the person they love can’t stay.

From award-winning writer Paul Griffin, Stay with Me is both heartbreaking and uplifting, filled with characters (both dog and human) that will forever change the way you look at the world.

Buy it here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: This is such a cute book. I don’t think I have ever read a more cute childhood/ teenager romance without it being mushy or in-your-face. This one’s really balanced. You get to see both aspects of the teens – the childish as well as the mature ones.

It is a very beautiful love story that is not seen much in today’s teens but I hope it exists somewhere because it’s just so adorable. Love the dog’s part too and he has an extremely important role to play in this book.

The book shows how one decision/ mistake can change your whole life and it does so very subtly. The writing is simple. The characters are very well-developed and you tend to like and love them as if your known’s.

This heart-touching, heart-breaking book makes for a nice, one-time read.

Why didn’t I love it? The concept is new, the characters are well-built, the carrying out of the plot is cute. BUT. I love pace in my books and of course this one’s a slow one. I like my books to surprise me. It didn’t really do that. I like my books to have marvelous twists and turns, it didn’t have that. I want my books to grip me till the very end and frankly speaking, the book doesn’t have that kind of a power.

Having said that, I did enjoy reading it and will recommend it. But if you have other amazing books on your list, you can pick this up a little later.

3/5 stars – I liked it.

4 thoughts on “Stay with Me by Paul Griffin”

  1. Aww this sounds fun and cute and add a cute dog…well it seems like it would be a great read. Sorry the pacing and suprise elements didn’t meet your expectations. I will keep this in mind, but have so much to read, I am wondering if I will ever dig out!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

