Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth

Goodreads Summary: In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.

Buy it here – AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: Alright where to start. Yes, I know everyone has already read this book and most of you have adored it. I have heard rave reviews of Insurgent too. So how and why did I finally get my hands on this book?

I saw Ashley in one of my Goodreads group was looking for a Buddy to read it with and what better way to read than while discussing, so I grabbed the chance.

I wasn’t planning on finishing the book this week since it doesn’t feature on my list of books to be read this week (Bout of books readathon) but I couldn’t get into any of my reads for that and so I happened to pick it up sooner than planned.

A few pages into the book – I’m not sure I am going to like this book. Factions and all? Not my type.

A few more pages into the book – An aptitude test, a simulation test? Wait, I love that idea. Oh wow, what a test. I think I’m going to love this book. ๐Ÿ™‚

Few more pages read – Ooh, I’m liking Four. Yumm!

Some more – Why is nothing happening? Will this book pace up, please? I know you want to leave something for the next book in the series, but I’m beginning to sleep now.

And then some more – *Yawn* Will you speed up?

Towards the end – Ok, finally something is happening. Hmm hmm.. What? You did what? Why? Have you lost your mind? What is wrong with the author? Why did she do this?

Last page – Ok, I didn’t like this book. Yeah, it was alright, I mean I liked some things but the others, not my type. What you want to kill me? Oh, I know you LOVED this book but I didn’t, so what?

Am I going to read the next in the series? Probably but I was planning on reading Insurgent right after this one. Not so motivated now. Later!

I had some serious issues with certain aspects of this book. I don’t want to put up a spoiler for any single soul who hasn’t read this book yet but I can’t believe Tris did what she did towards the end. Go see the spoilers here. That was totally uncalled for. There were so many ways to avoid it. Apart from that, some other issues with the book including what happens between Four and Tris towards the end. I don’t believe it. That’s way too unrealistic for me to swallow.

Well anyway, an ok start, good pace up, slow and downhill, that was how the book was for me.

3/5 Stars – I liked it.

5 thoughts on “Divergent (Divergent #1) by Veronica Roth”

  1. Aw that is sad to hear that this one didn’t live up to the hype for you. I know I’m excited to read this one in June because so many people rave. I hope I’m not let down.

    Thanks for the great review, maybe if you read Insurgent it will be a better fit for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, I have to read Insurgent soon. You read it before I knew it was out. LOL! Thank you for not beating me up for not loving the book. I have always been told I have different opinions on all things under the sun. Am I normal?

      Like

  2. I totally agree with you. I read Divergent last year & was surprised it was favorite book of 2011 on Goodreads. I liked it but definitely did not love it. I also didn’t understand some of the different character’s actions. After I read the book, the more I thought about things the more it didn’t make sense. I will read Insurgent at some point but I’m in no hurry.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

