Guest Post- Blood And Guitars: The Music Behind The Book

Blood And Guitars: The Music Behind The Book

A Playlist by Heather Jensen

I’m honored to be here at Reviewing Shelf today to share with you one of my writing playlists. The thing I most love about writing the Blood And Guitars series is that it combines two of my biggest passions: music and vampires. It goes without say, then, that I had an amazing, diverse collection of songs on repeat to inspire me and set the tone while I wrote the first book. Here is the list, along with a taste of lyrics that help explain why each song is so relevant to the characters and the plot.

  • Trying – LifehouseCould you lie down your hair and be transparent for a while? Just a little while, to see if you’re human after all.
  • All Around Me – FlyleafI can feel you all around me. Thickening the air I’m breathing. Holding on to what I’m feeling. Savoring this heart that’s healing.”
  • When The Day Met The Night – Panic At The DiscoWhen the moon met the sun, he looked like he was barely hanging on, but her eyes saved his life in the middle of summer.”
  • Famous Last Words – My Chemical RomanceI see you lying next to me with words I thought I’d never speak. Awake and unafraid. Asleep or dead.
  • Sick Cycle Carousel – LifehouseI tried to climb your steps. I tried to chase you down. I tried to see how low I could get down to the ground. I tried to earn my way. I tried to tame this mind. You better believe that I have tried to beat this.”
  • Too Far Gone – The All-American RejectsEvery breath you take you give me the verdicts bitter taste. You promised that you’d stay. You say you wanna go. Your lips provide a shelter for the things that I don’t know.”
  • Thunder – Boys Like Girls “Strike me down with lightning. Let me feel you in my veins.”
  • Breathing – LifehouseSomething I’ve been keeping locked away behind my lips I can feel it breaking free with each and every kiss.”
  • I Can’t Take It – The All-American RejectsStep up to me. I know that you’ve got something buried. I’ll set you free. You set conditions but I’ve had enough.”
  • Bring Me To Life – EvanescenceBid my blood to run … before I come undone. Save me from the nothing I’ve become.”

Since I first began writing Blood And Guitars in 2000, some of these songs were part of the original soundtrack for the book, which naturally evolved and grew when I began working on it again a few years ago. These songs serve as the perfect soundtrack for my characters in Blood And Guitars. I love that I can turn my iPod on random, and when one of these songs play, I am immediately taken back to specific scenes in the book. I’d love to read about what songs remind you of scenes or characters from your favorite books. Share in the comments!

Thank you Heather for this lovely guest post.

Buy it here – AMAZONHeather’s Shop | Goodreads –  (Book 1) (Book 2)

Summary: When Aurora meets Trey, a famous singer and musician, she’s only hoping to get her fill of human blood for the week. The last thing Aurora expects is for Trey to make her feel alive for the first time since she was, well, alive. It begins with a casual painting lesson at her art studio, The Waking Moon, and quickly turns into a forbidden romance. Aurora is forced to hide her true identity from Trey, while keeping her relationship with the human a secret from other vampires in her Brood. Trey’s band is recording a new album and with Aurora as his muse, Trey is writing songs like never before. After being hired by their record label to paint the cover of the new album, Aurora has a legitimate reason for spending so much time with Trey and his band mates. Aurora can’t deny the unexpected connection she has with Trey, which is fueled by glimpses into his emotions every time they share a kiss. Caught between two worlds, Aurora must attend celebrity award shows and vampire rituals, find time to feed, and protect Trey from the dangers of the night, all while preserving her secrets.

Summary: I’m no stranger to chaos, but even the life of a rock star couldn’t prepare me for the consequences of loving a vampire. I’m risking more than my career to be with Aurora. My life is in danger, threatened by the very group I must join to stay alive. –Trey

I have to keep Trey alive until I can make him a vampire, but my own kind will stop at nothing to prevent it. The Emissary is having me followed, and if I can’t figure out who is behind the violent attacks Trey won’t make it to the full moon. Am I even powerful enough to carry Trey through the change, or will he be left floating in the wake of destruction? –Aurora

Author Bio

Heather Jensen writes paranormal fantasy for teens and adults. She began writing her first book at the age of 16. She is an avid reader and loves anything vampire- related, but likes all kinds of fantasy. When she’s not writing she enjoys traveling, listening to music, going to concerts, playing guitar and spending time with friends and family.

She is addicted to Oreos and White Knight drinks from Perks. Her favorite color is green and the uglier the shade the better.

Heather lives in Southern Utah with her husband and son where she continues to write the Blood And Guitars series.

The second book in the series, Immortals And Melodies has just been released on Kindle.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Book Trailer Playlist | Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Guest Post- Blood And Guitars: The Music Behind The Book”

  1. Digging on the playlist! Those are some really good songs. When I first started reading B&G, and you described Trey’s voice, I immedately thought of one of my favorite bands, Trapt. So now whenever I’m reading your books, I think of them and vice versa.

    Like

    1. Kimberly, thank you for dropping by and glad you like Heather’s playlist.

      I’m sorry I haven’t dropped by your blog in quite some while. I just moved and am still to find an internet connection, so it’s hard to keep up.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

