Guest Post & Giveaway : Aliaa El-Nashar

Today I am hosting on my blog, the very young author, Aliaa El-Nashar. She is a 21 year old studying languages at university. She grew up in Kuwait and is currently residing in Cairo, Egypt. She loves to read, write and draw. And she has a published book to her credit. Phew!

You can check out her book Against All Odds at Goodreads.

Getting the writing wheels spinning

As a writer and an artist, there would be times where I wouldn’t accomplish anything either way. It had nothing to do with having no ideas, I’d have plenty of them honestly yet still can’t write, or draw. I guess it was basically a mood thing, not feeling up for the task. I dislike not being motivated or creating, so one day I came up with an idea in order to help get me back in the game. Alright fine, I’ll admit, it was my mother who gave me the idea actually.

I had complained to my mother that I hadn’t written anything in a while and I hate it, but at the same time I didn’t feel like writing. We discussed it for a while when she remembered something I used to do as a kid;

“Aliaa, remember when you were a young and you’d let us scribble in your sketchbook, then try to turn that scribble into something?”

(Technically that’s not what she said, since my mother doesn’t speak English, but that’s basically the gist.)

Hearing it made me think. Yes, when I was younger I would ask anyone to scribble in my sketchbook and I’d work on turning that scribble into a drawing of sorts, I thrived on challenges, so this one had occupied me for some time. The more I thought about it, the more the idea appealed to me , and I decided to do something similar with my writing problem. Create a challenge.

I went onto my facebook account and updated my status asking people to shoot random words at me, and I’d work on coming up with a story regarding them, I explained it all here with My Ramblings.

I hadn’t actually heard of the word ‘Solipsism’ before, let alone knew what it meant. So I had to research the whole thing in advance before coming up with the story, and then it was done! I have to admit, it wasn’t anything glamorous, but it did the trick, I had finally accomplished something!

Here’s the link to my Solipsism Story if you’re interested in checking it out.

Hope you guys have a nice day!

Wow! Love your writing ideas, Aliaa. Thank you for this very stimulating guest post at Reviewing Shelf.

 Find Aliaa – Blog | Twitter | Goodreads


Against All Odds

The Story revolves around:

-A boy called Damien who seems to have it all. He’s rich, good-looking and athletic. He’s also arrogant, obnoxious and a major player. Damien is one of 5 children who seem to not get along, until one day Damien meets Alexis and his life is turned inside out.

-A girl called Alexis who has trust issues due to her parents. Her best friends mean the world to her, and she refuses to date anyone that doesn’t fit completely in her ‘Perfect Guy’ list.

They’re thrown together a lot and start to face inner demons they’ve hidden away for so long.




GIVEAWAY (INT)

Win an ecopy of Against all odds.

Enter Here.

9 thoughts on “Guest Post & Giveaway : Aliaa El-Nashar

  1. Lily Hunter says:

    Wow I’ve never heard of writing a story based off of random words facebook friends gave you, I’m definitely going to check out Solipsism to see how it turned out. Anyways, I’d like to thank you for the chance to win an e-copy of this novel, I’m really looking forward to reading it so having a chance to win a copy is wonderful, thanks!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

