Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

Goodreads Summary: When the NSA’s invincible code-breaking machine encounters a mysterious code it cannot break, the agency calls its head cryptographer, Susan Fletcher, a brilliant and beautiful mathematician. What she uncovers sends shock waves through the corridors of power. The NSA is being held hostage … not by guns or bombs, but by a code so ingeniously complex that if released it would cripple U.S. intelligence. Caught in an accelerating tempest of secrecy and lies, Susan Fletcher battles to save the agency she believes in. Betrayed on all sides, she finds herself fighting not only for her country but also for her life, and in the end, for the life of the man she loves.

Buy it here – Amazon | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

My Views: After reading masterpieces like The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons, I came to this book by Dan Brown, with sky-soaring expectations. Did it fulfill all those? Umm, we will see.

I love how Dan Brown packs a punch in every line and scene of the book, makes every page worth turning. Although I’m not a science person at all, in fact, I would like to stay as far away from it as possible, I tread my way through this book at a stunning pace. Well, the case with every Dan Brown book, huh!

Another thing that I love about his books is the space that he gives to female characters and that they are not in a minor position but at par with his male character. Yeah, you all know, how I love a brainy-brawny woman, eh?

Carefully bedded with twists and turns, this book is like any other by Dan, making one think and rethink their suspicion on various characters.

Having said all that, though I did love this book, I did not fell in love with it, like I did with The Da Vinci Code or even like Angels and Demons. This book takes a bit of scientific root, which does not appeal to me as much as the cryptography in TDVC did.

But this one sure makes a good read for curling up on a couch with.

4/5 stars – I really liked it. 

I received a review copy of the book from Random House India Publishing but the views expressed are my own, I have not been given any compensation for the same.

10 thoughts on “Digital Fortress by Dan Brown”

  1. I’ve had this one sitting on my bookshelf since ’06 and still have to read it but I loved his other ones. Have you read The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons and The Lost Symbol? I love his Robert Langdon series! Glad to hear you liked this one, maybe I should start reading it soon!

    Like

    1. That is a long time for a poor book to be sitting on the shelf. I loved The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons. Still have to read The Lost Symbol. Although I liked this one less than those two, it was nevertheless likable.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

