Wish I Could Have Said Goodbye by Shari A. Brady & Giveaway (INT)

Summary: Before Carmella D’Agostino’s older sister Francesca died, she worked at the bakery and wrote songs, but now she writes lists. Lists like ten reasons why it’s her fault Francesca’s dead, or five reasons why she should try and win Howie back, or one reason why she needs to stop lying to everyone, including herself.

Wish I Could Have Said Goodbye is an extraordinary novel about one family’s struggle to make sense of their world after losing a family member to addiction. Through sixteen-year-old Carmella’s eyes, we witness the courage and strength it takes to overcome the consequences of grief, guilt and co-dependency. With conviction and determination, Carmella shows us what can happen when we’re open to love, feel the pain of our loss, and have the courage to accept the truth of our lives.

Buy it here – Kindle | Amazon 

My Views: When I started reading this book, I suddenly related it to Imaginary Girls which I did not end up liking. So I was a little concerned as to the fate of this book. But good news is that I ended up liking this one. It is nothing like Imaginary Girls.

It’s a teenager’s story of coping with grief, sudden loss and surviving life. The author has done great with looking at the world through the eyes of a 17 year old. It’s not easy, I tell you but she has perfected the art.

This book tells a sensitive story about the after effects of death with a drug overdose. What happens to the loved ones of the deceased? How do they cope? Can they ever move on?

I love the characters in this book, they are well etched out. I feel like slapping a few of them to bring them to their senses but then that is reality, the way people are, the way they behave.

A beautiful book with a message, a good read.

3.5/5 stars – Somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’. 

About the Author

Shari A. Brady is a native Chicagoan and previously had so many careers she’s lost count. A graduate of Loyola University’s Business School and University of Chicago’s Creative Writing program, she’s finally a full-time writer, a dream she’s carried with her since she was twelve. She lives in suburban Chicago with her awesome husband, two of the best kids ever, and their shelter dog, Betty Queen Elizabeth. This is her first novel and her last career.

Shari A Brady  Online: Website | Facebook  | Twitter  | Good Reads  
Giveaway
E-book(5), Print book (3signed) international
8/27 – 9/14
6 thoughts on “Wish I Could Have Said Goodbye by Shari A. Brady & Giveaway (INT)”

  1. Looking forward to this one. I read ‘saving june’ recently which was also about the death of an older sister and I wanted to slap a couple of the characters in that! It’s nice that characters can be annoying enough that you wish you could talk to them in real life!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

