Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover

Paperback: 352 pages

Publisher: Atria Books; Original edition (September 18, 2012)

Language: English

Goodreads Summary: Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Buy it here: AMAZON | Add it on Goodreads

My View: This is another one of those books in which the protagonist’s father dies. Yeah, somehow I have been reading a couple of these books.

The book started off really well pulling me in. The plot is innovative and interesting. The characters are really well developed and interesting.

But I had a big time problem with the only conflict in here. I don’t want to divulge the spoiler but I couldn’t get my head around it. I kept asking myself ‘Dude, what’s the big deal? Really!’ Do let me know if any of you felt the same.

And also the supposed turn in the plot was a kind of sour feeling for me. It’s just way too unrealistic. Or maybe not. But I wish the twist and turn of the plot wasn’t This.

I loved the meaning of Slamming. Being  a poet myself, I enjoyed reading the poetry in the book. Some of it heart touching.

When I started reading, I thought I knew what the 5-star reviews about this book were all about but gradually I didn’t identify with those. But still, I am adamant to read the second one in the series. Hope it’s better for me.

3/5 stars – I liked it. 

 

About the Author

Colleen Hoover is the New York Times bestselling author of two novels, Slammed and Point of Retreat. Colleen lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys. Please visit ColleenHoover.com.
 
 
I received the book from Netgalley in exchange of my honest opinion.
7 thoughts on “Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover”

      1. Because I think my expectations are too high for the sequel. I’d hate to be disappointed and sequels tend to do that for me.

        Maybe…eventually…I’ll read it. My BFF is bugging me to read Point of Retreat. She says it’s her favorite series of the year.

        Like

      2. Ah, that does sounds like a good reason not to read it. But if your BFF has loved it, maybe you should give it a try. I will read it and let you know what I think of it. In the meanwhile, there are plenty of other good books around. Happy reading!

        Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

