Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

What is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs about our reading, and visit other readers’ blogs. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey (her blog has since been taken down, so the link won’t work). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is hosted by Trish and Shesten, with help from volunteers.

This is my first time participating in this read-a-thon and even though I really want to read a huge number of books, today’s a working day for me and a long one at that, so if I even get to finishing one book, that would be good by me. I am planning on reading The Shadow Throne by Aroon Raman.

Hour 1 – Introductory Questionnaire

  • What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
    New Delhi, India
  • Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
    I plan on reading (for review) The Shadow Throne by Aroon Raman. And some more if there is still time.
  • Which snack are you most looking forward to?
    I will be working most of the day, so nothing special. The usual meals.
  • Tell us a little something about yourself!
    I am Pragya, a Clinical Psychologist by profession, currently pursuing my doctorate in Clinical Psychology. I have loved reading books since forever, I devour every genre.
  • If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
    This is my first Dewey’s read-a-thon and I look forward to reading and getting to know many more readers from around the world.

Readathon Mini Challenge: Readathon Snacks

I should have been forewarned of this challenge because I devoured half my snacks without clicking a pic (read: a bowl full of fruits, a glass of milk and lunch). What you see here is my dinner (chapatis and curry) and after-dinner/midnight snacks of bananas and a huge packet of dates. What you don’t see here but is going in my stomach – a few cups of tea during night reading and a few chocolates here and there. :p

Check back for more updates during the read-a-thon.

 

 

End of Event

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I couldn’t participate after the first 4 hours as it was a working day and time to bed for me.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I recently read and loved Still Alice.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I loved it how it was.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The hourly contests, memes and twitter chats.
  5. How many books did you read? Sadly, it being a work day, I got only 156 pages read, also I got confused about the time.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I started reading The Shadow Throne by Aroon Raman.
  7. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I hope I have an off the next time on the read-a-thon day. Would love to be a cheerleader.
6 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

