Read-a-thon

22 on 22 Read-a-Thon: Reading Goals & Update Post

Hosted by Alexa @ Pages of Forbidden Love

I signed up for this read-a-thon. It looks like October is a readathon month for me. It started with Dewey’s 24 hour readathon, then a week of Toppler fun at YLTO group at Goodreads and now a week for this. Wow!

If you still need to sign up the Sign Up Page is still open!

hashtag on Twitter is #22readathon

My Reading Goals

(Click on cover for Amazon link and title for Goodreads link.)

Just This Once by Rosalind James

Hyde, an Urban Fantasy by Lauren Stewart

The Mistaken  by Nancy S. Thompson

The Night Circus  by Erin Morgenstern

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks  by Rebecca Skloot

Dracula  by Bram Stoker

The Resurgence of Satyam: The Global IT Giant  by Zafar Anjum

Recent addition: Carmilla  by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Progress Updates:

Oct 22: Day 1
Book(s) I’m reading: Dracula  + Hyde + The Resurgence of Satyam: The Global IT Giant 
Pages Read Today: 7 + 32 + 70
Total Pages Read: 109
Time Spent Reading Today: 5 + 20 + 60 minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: 85 minutes
Feelings: Liking all my books, the first one is a classic, next fantasy and last, non-fiction. What a variety!

Oct 23: Day 2
Book(s) I’m reading: Dracula + Just This Once 
Pages Read Today: 7 + 14
Total Pages Read: 21
Time Spent Reading Today: 5 + 25  minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: 30 minutes
Feelings: I know, I know, bad day for reading. On Day 1, I hit the bed in the wee hours of morning (4:30am) as I was working on  my course assignments and then I had to get up at 8 to go for work. So my precious reading time (1 hour during commuting) was lost as I spent it dozing, trying to catch some sleep.

mini challenge:

1. What book did you start reading for this read-a-thon?

I started reading Dracula Hyde and The Resurgence of Satyam: The Global IT Giant 

2. What is one of your favorite books to re-read?

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and An Unknown Woman by Alice Koller.

3. Do you have a strategy for read-a-thons to maximize your time?

Try to utilize commuting time to work, schedule blog posts in advance and sleep less.

4. Do you snack while reading?

Yes, cookies, green tea, fruits, just bring it on.

Oct 24: Day 3
Books I’m reading: Just This Once by Rosalind James
Pages Read Today: 270
Total Pages Read: 270
Time Spent Reading Today: –
Total Time Spent Reading: 4.5 hours
Feelings: Today’s a holiday, a big festival here. Hope to squeeze in some time and finish at least 1 book. — And yes, I did manage to finish one book but I almost didn’t do anything else the whole day. Oh, well, now I should catch up on my assignments, it’s going to be another whole nighter tonight, it’s already 1am.

mini challenge:

Today’s challenge is all about showing off the top book you are waiting on!

Summary: In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.

Why I’m waiting: Do you even need to ask? Seriously! I adored Daughter of Smoke and Bone, not to mention I did that when the book was on a world trip at a Goodreads Group. Yes, we passed the book on. It was real fun and the book was beautiful. It was so lyrical, wow. So of course, I can’t wait to get my hands on this one. Have you read it already?

Oct 25: Day 4

Book(s) I’m reading:  Hyde + The Resurgence of Satyam: The Global IT Giant  + Dracula 
Pages Read Today: 167 + 21 + 30
Total Pages Read: 218 pages
Time Spent Reading Today: 60 + 30 + 120 + 30 minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: 4 hours
Feelings: I took an off from work today and read a lot but couldn’t finish any book yet. 😦

mini challenge:

With so many movies based on books coming out lately I thought it would be fun to see who each person would cast in a movie on a book of their choice. So show us your dream cast!

My dream cast for

For Karou, I am thinking Ashley Greene.

And here’s my choices for Akiva.

Zac Effron

or

Channing Tatum

Oct 26: Day 5
Books I’m reading: Hyde, an Urban Fantasy by Lauren Stewart + Dracula 
Pages Read Today: 97 + 10
Total Pages Read: 107
Time Spent Reading Today: 20 + 90 minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: 110 minutes
Feelings: Too sleepy today, slept at 8:30pm.

Oct 27: Day 6
Books I’m reading: Hyde  + The Mistaken  by Nancy S. Thompson + Carmilla  by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
Pages Read Today: 195 + 97 + 10
Total Pages Read: 302 pages
Time Spent Reading Today: 3 hours + 1.5 hours + 20 minutes
Total Time Spent Reading: Almost 5 hours
Feelings: It was a holiday today and I made the most of it, reading away. 2 books finished so far, 5 more to go.

mini challenge

Share some of your favorite books where music either played a big part or the book had just had a playlist.

I adored Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour and loved the playlists sprinkled here and there in the book.

Oct 28: Day 7
Books I’m reading: The Mistaken  by Nancy S. Thompson + Carmilla  by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Pages Read Today: 20 + 117
Total Pages Read: 137
Time Spent Reading Today: 30 + 1 hour 30 minutes (audio)
Total Time Spent Reading: 2 hours
Feelings: I spent an hour and half cleaning today, so the audiobook of Carmilla was put to good use and I had  a great time cleaning unlike the other times. 😉

Survey:

1. What was your favorite part of this read-a-thon?

The reading, touring other blogs to see how they are progressing.

2. Did you enjoy the mini challenges?

Yup, loved them. 🙂

3. What was your least favorite part of this read-a-thon?

Very few people joined Twitter. It was very boring there and I missed the constant tweets that are a part of other read-a-thons’.

4. Anything I should do differently if I were to host another read-a-thon?

More blogger participation, more awareness about the read-a-thon.

 

Final Update

Books Finished – 

Just This Once by Rosalind James

Hyde, an Urban Fantasy by Lauren Stewart

 

Books in the middle of –

The Mistaken  by Nancy S. Thompson

The Night Circus  by Erin Morgenstern

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks  by Rebecca Skloot

Dracula  by Bram Stoker

The Resurgence of Satyam: The Global IT Giant  by Zafar Anjum

Carmilla  by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

 

Total Pages read – 1164

Total time spent reading – 19 hours 15 minutes

 

 

34 thoughts on “22 on 22 Read-a-Thon: Reading Goals & Update Post”

  1. I still have to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and after reading why you want to next one, I might just pick up the first very soon!! =). Good luck with your assignments, I hope you get them done so you can read =).

    Like

  2. I’m sad to say I still need to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. At one point I even had two arc copies and I still never got around to reading it. I swear there need to be more hours in the day.

    Thanks for the heads up about Night Circus 🙂

    Like

    1. Ah, you have to read it but then I know how it is with only 24 hours in a day. 😦

      Hope you read The Night Circus and like it. I’m still to clinch my feelings about it after I’m done reading.

      Like

  3. Ah, this is exactly what I need right now! Thanks so much for the heads up. 🙂 I don’t know how much time I’ll have for reading my own books (uni is quite hectic at the moment) but it’s worth a try.

    Like

  4. I hope you enjoy all of these books. I haven’t really heard of any of them except for The Night Circus which I’m always afraid to try to read because I really don’t tend to like adult fiction books. If the adult book is in the romance or fantasy genre I’ll read it but just general fiction books tend to bore me because it is always about chick lit where middleaged women just complain about their lives and since I’m not middle aged and don’t want to read a book about complaints they never appeal to me.

    Thanks for joining us I hope you have a great reading week.

    Like

    1. Ah, Alexa, if The Night Circus keeps on proceeding like the way it has started, you may want to pick it up. It has lots of magic in it and no middle-aged women. :-p

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.