Of Love and Evil by Hubert de La Bouillerie

Infinity Publishing
September 26th, 2012 (print)
ISBN-10: 0741478838
ISBN-13: 978-0741478832

Description: This epic love story, that began over 400 years ago with a pact made with the Devil in the name of love, is played out against the backdrop of today’s world of high technology and social media. Brooke Mirande, a beautiful young heiress, has just inherited full control of a multi-media empire. She rapidly finds herself torn between a love affair, with the gorgeous dot-com entrepreneur Robert Redman, and the strange, dark legacy of her mother. Brooke begins a desperate search for the truth of her heritage. A truth that reveals a conspiracy that could even include the love of her life, Robert Redman.

Hubert de La Bouillerie’s debut novel, Of Love And Evil The Birth, is the first book in the Of Love and Evil trilogy published by Infinity Publishing. The second and third titles, Of Love And Evil The Pact andOf Love and Evil The Final Battle, have an anticipated release date of spring and fall of 2013.

Buy it here – Amazon Print |Amazon Kindle | Add on Goodreads

My View: This book spooked me out from the very start and let me tell you I have always steered clear of horror books but this one kept me right on the edge and in a good way. It made me question why I don’t read/like horror books. And I think I’ll have to rethink my reading preferences a bit.

No wonder Hubert, the author is a film director because the book absolutely seemed like a movie script and I could even see it all in my mind’s eye as a movie. And it was all really scary.

The plot is very innovative and pulls you right in. I really don’t like books like these where the good guys keep dying but well, I can’t always read happily ever after now, can I? So this is a big change from all those and hence absolutely fit for a movie. I wonder when it’s releasing.

I could put up this book in many genres – horror, supernatural, mystery, thriller and a bit of sci-fi. Sounds good, doesn’t it? It absolutely was. So if you like any of those genres, you must dig in.

4/5 stars – I really liked it.  

About the Author

Hubert de La Bouillerie is a highly respected Hollywood film director, writer and film editor with over thirty features, including such favorites as The Witches of Eastwick, Other People’s Money and Tango and Cash. His debut novel, Of Love and Evil The Birth is currently being adapted as a film, graphic novel and game.

http://throughalensprod.com/hubert.html

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0209168/

2 thoughts on “Of Love and Evil by Hubert de La Bouillerie”

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

