Showcase Sunday #5

The aim of Showcase Sunday by Vicky @ Book, Biscuits and Tea is to showcase our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders this week.

So it’s been really long since I did this feature.  I got so many goodies since then. I will show you some that I bought/received within the last few weeks, especially yesterday when I went on book-buying frenzy on Amazon Kindle. 🙂

Borrowed from library

The Hour I First Believed: A Novel
The Darlings in Love

I have heard really good things about Finnikin of the Rock (The Lumatere Chronicles) and Rot & Ruin (Benny Imura (Rot and Ruin)).

Having seen the movie The Mistress of Spices and really liking it, I picked up Queen of Dreams by the same author.

I had started reading Love in the Time of Cholera long back but couldn’t finish it before returning to the friend I borrowed it from.

Borrowed from friend

Dibs in Search of Self is more of a course related book on Play Therapy and I am looking forward to reading it.

Bought

(Covers take you to Amazon while the links below to Goodreads)

I had been dying to read The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) by Michelle Hodkin so I got it off the shelf and am reading it right now. 🙂

I was also desperately waiting for Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2) by Laini Taylor which goes next on my reading list.

The lovely Rebecca Berto told me I had to read The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay, so I bought it yesterday and it’s super cheap (only $2.99, click on the picture above).

I bought Destined to Play by Indigo Bloome because I got the next in the series for review. And same goes for Inescapable (The Premonition, #1)Intuition (The Premonition, #2) and Indebted (The Premonition, #3) by Amy A. Bartol.

I loved The Scorpio Races and hence had to get The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle, #1)  by Maggie Stiefvater.

I saw someone reading No and Me  by Delphine de Vigan in the metro and thought it sounded really interesting, so I got it.

And since everyone have read and loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower  , Ten  , Burn for Burn Legend (Legend, #1) Destroy Me (Shatter Me, #1.5), I had to get them.

Ok don’t kill me for this, but I didn’t like Harry Potter (yeah, I know, horrifying), so I bought The Casual Vacancy  by J.K. Rowling to give the author another chance. :-p

And then I got this for a Goodreads group discussion – The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach.

For Review (Physical books)

I have heard so many good things about The Night Circus and I’ve Got Your Number: A Novel.

These books look really interesting –

Operation Lipstick 

The Quickening Maze: A Novel

Flesh

The Bankster

In the Sea There are Crocodiles: Based on the True Story of Enaiatollah Akbari (I love its cover.)

I’m still to read a book by Lee Child so I thought to start with A Wanted Man: A Jack Reacher Novel.

Thank you Random House India, Blogadda and author of Flesh.

For Review (Ebooks)

Thank you NetGalley and Edelweiss. I’m really looking forward to reading all of these.

So well, I have lots of books that will keep me busy for the coming months. Phew! Now the difficult choice of what to read first, *sigh* the story of my life. 😉

Have you read any of these books? Are you looking forward to reading any of them?What was your haul for this week? Put your links in the comments below and I’ll come visit your book haul.


38 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #5”

  1. Wow! Awesome list of books! There are so many here that I have on my list to read. I have been waiting a long time to read The Night Circus, I finally got a copy and then proceeded to loan it to a friend. *sigh* But your post has given me a lot more to add to my TBR list. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag! Happy reading!

    Like

  2. Holy crap! This is one crazy awesome fantastic book haul! I am sooooo jealous right now. Seriously, I’m green with envy! I hope you enjoy all these amazing books, so many of them are on my wish list too 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by Book Cover Justice!

    Like

  3. Hi Pragya,
    Thanks for visiting my blog and wishing me happy birthday!! Looks like you have tons of wonderful books to read!! Too many to name but one that sticks out is The Sea of Tranquility, I’ve heard great things about it and I hope we both love it too!;) Happy reading!!!:)

    Like

  4. So many great titles! I wouldn’t know where to begin. Though I agree with you that Days of Blood & Starlight is a good place to start. I loved Perks and hope you do too 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Melissa. Ah, it’s that good? Wow! Yes, the size of it is surely intimidating! LOL! Uh oh, you didn’t care for The Casual Vacancy, I’ll look out for your review.

      Like

  5. That’s a great haul. I liked Love in the Time of Cholera (I read it in Spanish when I was in college), but my favorite Gabriel García Márquez book is Of Love and Other Demons (I think that’s the English name. I also read it in Spanish). I hope you enjoy all your reads and thanks for stopping by my Showcase Sunday.

    Like

  6. Wow this is an amazing haul, enjoy them all 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing what you think, especially about some of the ones I want to read but haven’t got around to yet like Ten & Destined to Play. Have a great week!

    Like

  7. I need to get the Casual Vacancy. I also bought Destroy Me recently. Dying to read that so I can live the Warner appreciation life. Feel bad for loving him but he is one interesting villain.

    Oh my gosh. I spot The Golden Lily. That book owns my heart. Soo good.

    You have quite an awesome haul here. I hear you on not knowing what to read first. The eternal dilemma for us bookish peeps, haha.

    Happy reading and thanks for stopping my post 🙂

    Jennifer @ Dream Reads

    Like

  8. That is a ton of books, I don’t even know where to begin! All of them look awesome, I know there’s quite a few there I definitely want to read. I hope you enjoy all of them, and have a good week!

    Like

  9. Whoa what a haul. I loved the Devils Bargain it was a great read. I went on a book spree a few weeks ago after your cheap hauls post. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

