Guest Post & Giveaway (INT): Witching Curse of Kin by Ari Harper

Witching Curse of Kin by Ari Harper
Young Adult

16169184Blurb: What would you think if one day you found out you had powers, the kind of powers that you could only dream of. The only problem was, you had to relearn them so you could break the curse that made your uncle immortal. Would you take on that kind of deal so you could watch your favorite man die? Nera certainly doesn’t want to. And to make matters worse she has an incredibly handsome god for a teacher and protector. A problem you think? Nera does. They clash at every turn, both stubborn and very strong willed. The race is on for Bones to get her magic up to scratch before it is too late. The demons are rising and all hell is breaking loose around them. No one sees what is coming and Nera is heartbroken when Bones tells her what she has to do to save them all. But can she go against all she is to carry out his orders?

Buy it here – Amazon | Add at Goodreads

I welcome Ari Harper to Reviewing Shelf today. She is here to talk about her fascinating book. Over to you, Ari.

Character Sketching – WITCHLING – BOOK ONE – CURSE OF KIN

When I started writing Witchling it was because the characters, Nera in particular, wouldn’t leave me alone. She would pop up4572084 in my head during the day for no apparent reason when I was trying to concentrate on something. My sleep would be disturbed with the dream that starts the book with Nera fighting to get out of the burning classroom.

She got so annoying that I had to get it all down. Now this was my first book so it was all new to me. I had no idea how to start writing, let alone how you went about it. It was only because of a conversation over Christmas one year with my daughter-in-law and son-in- law that this book got written at all.

“Just start,” they both said.

Easy for them to say. After rearranging my desk and endless fluffing I finally got into it. What happened next scared the wits out of me.

Nera found her voice and dragged in her Uncle Jasper, the most gentle soul with a voice that would make most women weak at the knees – me included.

Her best friend Brie who was born on the same day but six minutes later as Nera likes to tell everyone, also came into the story very early on dragging Sully with her.

I don’t plan my books at all. I’m a pantser through and through. I find that if I develop a character on paper plotting an outline, it doesn’t work for me.

I didn’t make Nera the often nice with a side order of snotty brat teenager thrown in, it’s just how she is. All of my characters have their own agenda and if I try to change it, wow look out. That book goes downhill and no longer talks to me.

I’m sure you have all read the comments like ‘I didn’t know my characters were going down that path.’ I see it all the time on social media and I can sympathize. I understand what they are going through because I’ve done it too.

I cried in Book Three when they did something I didn’t expect, seriously I did. I couldn’t believe it but now I understand and it makes the story so much better.

So no, I don’t choose my characters. They choose me and write their own story.

Wow, that sounds so wonderful. I wish I had even half of your mind and imagination, Ari. Thank you for being here today.

Find Ari- Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Giveaway (INT)

Ari is very graciously giving away an ecopy of Witchling.

Enter here.

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

