Blogoversary Special: Guest Post & Giveaway (INT)

images1-2-1I know you have missed these Blogoversary Giveaways’ posts of mine. I have too. There are lots more coming up. I just got a bit busy.

So today on the Giveaway list is another book I read and absolutely loved this year – Cleopatra’s Moon By Vicky Alvear Shecter (read my review here). I fell in love with the cover itself and the book took my breath away. I messaged Vicky on Goodreads immediately after finishing reading, asking her about more of her books, I was desperate to read more of her work, you see.

84653372

And today, lo and behold, I have the lovely lady herself whom I begged to tell me how she came about writing Cleopatra’s Moon and wonderful as she is, she not only agreed to it but also graciously offered her book for the giveaway. Don’t you love amazing authors like that?

So over to you, Vicky!

Thanks for inviting me to post on your wonderful blog, Pragya! The idea for my novel, Cleopatra’s Moon, came out of the research I did for a biography on the famous queen of Egypt, Cleopatra VII (Cleopatra Rules! The Amazing Life of the Original Teen Queen) published in 2010.

I was stunned to learn that out of the queen’s four children, only her daughter, Cleopatra VIII Selene, survived to adulthood. Not only that, but she grew up to rule as queen of a North African province!

Why don’t we hear much about this plucky daughter of Cleopatra and Mark Antony, I wondered. What must it have been like to have Cleopatra as your mother? What would it have been like to watch your world crumble around you after your parents lost a war?

I assumed that the princess of Egypt took it for granted that she would follow in her mother’s footsteps as queen of Egypt. So how did she react when that dream was ripped away from her? What must it have been like to have to leave all you’ve ever known and loved against your will? To be forced to live in the home of the man responsible for your parents’ deaths?

A writer friend once said, “Don’t write what you know. Write about what you want to know.”

In having to get into Selene’s skin, I got to “experience” what it was like to be a follower of Isis, to walk the glittering halls of the royal palace of Alexandria, and to fall in love with someone who complicated your political plans.

Historical fiction, I believe, is the closest we’ll get to a “time machine.” I hope that readers enjoy the “trip” back into a fascinating period of ancient Egypt and ancient Rome!

Thank you for being on Reviewing Shelf, Vicky! The pleasure is all mine. I am so happy and relieved that now I know your inspiration behind this book and I love that quote – “Don’t write what you know. Write about what you want to know.” Amazing!

Find it here- AMAZON | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide | Goodreads

But you also have a chance to win it.

The author, Vicky Alvear Shecter  is very graciously offering a hardback to a US/CAN resident or a Kindle copy to International resident.

Find Vicky- Goodreads | Website | Blog Twitter | Facebook

Giveaway

1 Hardback of Cleopatra’s Moon (US/CAN)

or

1 Kindle Copy (INT)

Enter here.

11 thoughts on “Blogoversary Special: Guest Post & Giveaway (INT)

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the future. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice day!

    Like

  2. Munnaza says:

    Happy blogoversary! I’ve heard AMAZING things about this book, and I absolutely love the cover. I will definitely be adding Cleopatra’s Moon to my TBR immediately! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  3. Denise Z says:

    Happy Happy Blogoversary. Thank you for your generous sharing with us and for the fun giveaway opportunity. May the next year bring you joy in all you do with lotsa giggles and good books 🙂

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

