Review & Giveaway (INT): Nothing Comes Close by Tolulope Popoola

Cambria Hebert

Book Title: Nothing Comes Close

Author Name: Tolulope Popoola

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Chick-Lit

Synopsis: Confident, sassy, career girl, Lola meets cool, handsome, unpredictable hunk, Wole at a party in London. He pushes all the right buttons for her, and sparks fly. Wole is also irresistibly drawn to Lola, and before long, they get together in a wonderful romance. But Wole is not all that he seems, and he is holding back some dark secrets.

Things start to unravel when Wole’s past begins to catch up with him and Lola has to decide if Wole is worth the trouble that threatens to overwhelm her. Find out in this captivating book if their love will overcome the trials of a murder investigation, an arrest, a meddling relative and a trip halfway across the world, or whether they both give up and go their separate ways.

Available Formats: Ebook (pdf or .mobi) (267 pages) and Paperback.

Add at Goodreads | Amazon

My View: I have mixed feelings about this book and I will be sharing those.

Nothing Comes Close is said to be in the genre of contemporary romance/ chick-lit, so I picked it up wanting some funny and romantic moments. I don’t think it fit those genres well enough for me personally. I was left wanting for more romance and some chick-lit fun. I found this book to be more dramatic and thriller than romantic or chick-lit. It was more serious than I expected it to be.

Things I liked-

The plot is good enough and has some ups and downs.

The book is not slow paced if anything.

I see a bit of romance here and there.

There is some element of surprise and mystery involved.

The book has  a lot going on – with Lola (the main character), Wole (her boyfriend) and Lola’s girlfriends.

Things I would have rather steered clear of –

The book has so much going on that I would rather have it go one way than everywhere all at once. It becomes a bit of mumbo jumbo when there are too many characters and their lives involved and not enough pages to go through them slowly.

The author’s writing style and use of language other than English. I understand and wish to cut the author some slack when it comes to writing since I believe her first language is not English but I found the writing style to be a bit different and took me some time to adapt to. Also, the use of language other than English (probably Nigerian) kind of irked me because I couldn’t understand the expressions. Maybe a footnote or word dictionary at the end of the book would have helped.

The characters irritated me to some extent because they were a tad too dramatic for my taste. However, having said that, people like this may exist, it’s just that I have done well not to cross their paths. 😉

The insertion of a sort of mystery/thriller within this book didn’t work for me because even though the plot had something to offer, it wasn’t executed with precision. And perhaps needed some editing.

Overall, I can say this book would appeal to people looking for a sort of romantic mystery with a huge amount of drama served on the side. I think the author has made a decent enough start and I wish her the best for her future writing endeavors.

Giveaway (INT)

Win a mobi/epub/pdf copy of Nothing Comes Close

Entry-Form

About the Author

I’m a writer, blogger and lover of books and all things literature. I used to be an Accountant, until I rediscovered my love for writing in 2006 and became a full-time writer in 2008. I’m the creator and one of the writers for the fiction series and book, In My Dreams It Was Simpler. My novel, “Nothing Comes Close” is a spin-off from the series and has just been published by Accomplish Press. I also write short stories, flash fiction, poems and articles for magazines, and I’m working on a collection of short stories and flash fiction.

Find the author: Blog | Facebook | Twitter  | LinkedIn | Goodreads | Accomplish Press

Make sure you check the schedules posted at any of the fabulous hostesses’ sites for more great posts and giveaways.

Cambria Hebert
Rainy Day Ramblings
Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer
Love of Books
Mostly Reviews

6 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway (INT): Nothing Comes Close by Tolulope Popoola”

  1. Well I like dramatic reads too. I am sorry though that this isn’t quite what you expected but it sounds like it was still a good read. Thanks for being a part of Fire and Ice and for participating in my week. I really appreciate it!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

