Mind Games by Kiersten White

Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 19, 2013
Review Copy: Edelweiss

Summary: Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways… or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

Buy it here – Pre-order at Amazon | Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide  | Add at Goodreads

My View: I have been sort of breathless yet resisting to write this review. Ah, the pulls and tugs of my mind…

This book found a place on my most anticipated books of 2013 and of course, I had huge expectations from it. This is my first read by Kiersten White and even though I have wanted to read the Paranormalcy series, I haven’t yet gotten to it.

So, did the book met my expectations? Umm, well..for the most part, a huge yes.

What I liked loved about this book?

The Cover I mean, just look at that cover. Gah! Don’t you fall in love with it?

The plot – Amazing, mind-blowing. Although the plot may have been dealt with in other books, this is a unique rendition of it.

The writing – Easy, effortless, pulls you in. Got me from the very first line and I finished the book in a day.

The way the story is knitted – This is why the book is different. It may have a similar broad outline to other books but within that, it’s completely different. Molded into its own vessel, it keeps up the interest and the fascination.

The Pace – Thrilling. Not for a single moment, the book dulls. Every word is important and you never know what will happen next.

The Characters – Fia and Annie, the two protagonists. The story is told from their POV. I loved Fia, the beautiful, strong and kick-ass heroine who can think and act. Annie didn’t pull my heart strings though. James, the suave, lovable hottie, I fell in love with and it feels so wrong… LOL (Read the book to understand this joke.) Adam, the cute, innocent boy from next door. The characters are nicely etched overall.

The Ending – So clever. I can’t spoil it for you so you have to read the book to know what happened.

Acknowledgements – I know this is not a part of the story but I love reading acknowledgements (must be a psychological thing, I feel you can tell so much about a person from the acknowledgements he/she wrote). And Kiersten White’s acknowledgements were insanely funny. I got a good chuckle from them.

What irked me?

A single thing – I was unable to adjust to the way the time shifted from one to another during POVs. Don’t get me wrong. I like multiple POVs – so two is fairly easy. And I also do good with shifting between present and past. What I had trouble with in this one was that the past was divided into 3-4 different times (7 years ago, 2 years ago, 6 months ago etc.) and I can still work with different past times but the time was erratic. They were not in a sequence and that makes for a confusing storyline and requires a lot of focused reading on the reader’s part which does take away some fun.

So overall, I think this book made for a very good read. And I’m looking forward to the next book in the series. The only problem? It releases in 2014! Oh, kill me now!

Kiersten White, one in a million chance, if you are reading this, I want you to know I’m waiting for a funny book by you. After reading the acknowledgements, I have become aware of your capabilities and wish you’ll utilize them soon and write a funny book. 

4/5 stars – I really liked it. images (17)

4 thoughts on “Mind Games by Kiersten White

  1. Oh goodness I love a great story that sounds a little unique but the dual povs has never been my thing. I just really have issues when it is not done right and add in the fact that there is a lot of time jumps… Sounds like I’m going to have to pay a lot attention to this one if I end up reading it.

    THanks for the great review, glad you liked it 🙂

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

