Wool (Wool #1-5) by Hugh Howey


16282974Wool (Wool #1-5) by Hugh Howey
Genre:
Young Adult/Dystopia
Publication:
December 3rd 2012
Publisher: Century (Random House)

An epic story of survival at all odds and one of the most anticipated books of the year.

In a ruined and hostile landscape, in a future few have been unlucky enough to survive, a community exists in a giant underground silo.

Inside, men and women live an enclosed life full of rules and regulations, of secrets and lies.

To live, you must follow the rules. But some don’t. These are the dangerous ones; these are the people who dare to hope and dream, and who infect others with their optimism.

Their punishment is simple and deadly. They are allowed outside.

Jules is one of these people. She may well be the last.

Wool (1-5) Amazon | Wool 1 – FREE | Wool 2 – 99 cents | Wool 3 – 99 cents | Add at Goodreads

My View:  First published at Kindle And Me.

The world of Wool…ah, how to describe it? It’s mind-blowing, mesmerizing, deceptive, intriguing, complex and way beyond imagination. I marvel at the whole construction of it – almost impossible yet so alluring in its magnificence.

The story captures one’s interest right from the word ‘go’. It does take some time getting used to though, understanding it all. The characters are really well done and I felt for each of them throughout.

The plot takes one by surprise due to its powerful storyline and uniqueness. The way in which the story unfolds is also very well done. Though the story progresses painfully slowly at times (a pace-loving reader would quit) and it requires patience to slug on, you’re nevertheless rewarded as the pace increases the further you go. And the beautiful web the world of wool has knit draws you in by its sheer magic.

The plot and the characters are the major strengths of this book. Though personally, I was a little put-off by the pace of the book at times, I decided it was just a minor irritation to ignore in lieu of the larger good (which was the captivating story).

Overall, though it took me an absolutely crazy amount of time (two months) to finish this book, I would say I came out rather pleased with how the story developed and I eagerly look forward to the next in the series.

4/5 stars – I really liked it. Dying to Run by Cami Checketts: Review & Giveaway(INT)

4 thoughts on “Wool (Wool #1-5) by Hugh Howey”

  1. I am happy to hear you found a great dystopian my last one was a total flop. I haven’t heard of this one before, I am headed over to check out your review!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

