The Sound of Loneliness by Craig Wallwork & Giveaway (INT)

Sound of LonelinessAbout the book: Manchester in 1991 is a town suffering under the weight of high unemployment and massive government budgetary deficits that is plunging the UK into a recession.

To Daniel Crabtree, a struggling writer, it is the backcloth to his first novel, one that will see him become a famous published author. Living off mostly water and flour, Daniel has embraced penury into his life under the mistaken belief that many young artists have: one needs to suffer for success in art. But Daniel is a terrible writer. In the three years since signing on the dole, of every morning chastising his Irish singing neighbour for waking him from his sleep, and scrounging food from his close friend Henry Soperton, Daniel Crabtree has produced one short story. His heart is bereft of words as much as his pockets are of money.

The Sound of Loneliness is a story of love, and how a poor starving man chasing a dream came to the understanding that amidst the clamour of life, the sound of loneliness is the most deafening of all.

Pick up your copy of this Literary/ Urban Life/ Black Comedy through Amazon US, Amazon UK, or Barnes & Noble.

My View: Did you take a good look at the cover? Isn’t it so creative? I really liked it. And the title is catchy too. Reason enough to pick this book? Maybe.

As usual having not read the blurb, I had no idea what I was getting myself into except for the title and the cover. So imagine my surprise at the raw and in-your-face tone of the book. It goes deep, much deeper than the words on the periphery.

If you give this book time (which is essential especially if you, like me, love a speedy read instead of one that barely moves), it evolves into something else entirely. There is this basic, raw feel to it which is kind of strange, even ‘eww’y at times but therein lies the reality, the crux of this book.

The feelings come through so stark naked – the desperation, the make-believe, even the chewing of food is felt. Did I just lost you there? Well, that’s how I felt while reading the book. I kind of got the insanity while at times wanting to slap the main character for his idiocy.

I’m not sure about the sound of loneliness but the book did make me feel so many things. It’s just unlike anything I have ever read. And even though I was tempted to give up a number of times because I am too ADD for slow-moving books, I held on and am glad I did. It was worth it.

The book is deep on so many levels that I hope to re-read it sometime in the near future to derive it all.

Overall, a raw-y, eww-y kind of deep, dark read that makes you fall off the wagon. :-p

Recommended for readers who aren’t looking for a nice, fluffy, happy-go-lucky book.

3.5/5 stars – Between ‘ I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’. images (25)

About the prizes: Who doesn’t love prizes? You could win either of two $25 Amazon gift cards, an autographed copy of The Sound of Loneliness, or an autographed copy of one of its tour mates, Stranger Will by Caleb J Ross or Angel Falls by Michael Paul Gonzalez. Here’s what you need to do…

  1. Enter the Rafflecopter contest here.
  2. Leave a comment on my blog.

That’s it! One random commenter during this tour will win a $25 gift card. Visit more blogs for more chances to win–the full list of participating bloggers can be found here. The other $25 gift card and the 3 autographed books will be given out via Rafflecopter. You can find the contest entry form linked below or on the official Perfect Edge Trifecta tour page via Novel Publicity. Good luck!

Perfect Edge Books was founded in late 2011 to unite authors whose books weren’t “obviously” commercial. Our books tend to sit in various genres all at once: literary fiction, satire, neo-noir, sci-fi, experimental prose. We believe that literary doesn’t have to mean difficult, and that difficult doesn’t just mean pointless. We prefer to cultivate a word-of-mouth approach to marketing, and keep production as simple as we can. Learn more at www.PerfectEdgeBooks.com.

Learn more about The Sound of Loneliness‘s tour mates HERE.

About the author: Craig Wallwork lives in West Yorkshire, England. He is an artist, filmmaker and writer. His short stories have appeared in many publications in the US and the UK. He is the author of the short story collection Quintessence of Dust, and the novels To Die Upon a Kiss and The Sound of Loneliness. Craig is also the fiction editor at Menacing Hedge Magazine. Connect with Craig on his website, Facebook, GoodReads, or Twitter.

8 thoughts on “The Sound of Loneliness by Craig Wallwork & Giveaway (INT)

  1. Great review, Pragya. I’m glad Sound of Loneliness brought you out of your comfort zone for a fantastic read! Thank you for joining us on this tour and for taking a moment to cross-post to Amazon and GoodReads when you have the time 😀

    Em

    Like

  2. I enjoy a slow read as long as the pay off is worth it and I have the time to invest. If I am pressed for a blog deadline I don’t appreciate them as much as I should. This does sound very interesting and different and you are right the cover is definitely different.

    Like

    • I hope you can get to it sometime, Heidi. You will find it interesting and innovative if you have the time to spend. I know I hate slow books especially when I have a blog deadline to meet.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

