Tantra by Adi

17612202Goodreads Summary: Anu is a leather wearing, no-nonsense professional guardian with a reputation for killing the most dangerous vampires in New York City. But when her enemies murder the one person she truly cared about, all she wants is vengeance. The only clue points to New Delhi, so Anu puts in for a job transfer.

In India, she finds more than she expected. For one thing, her fellow operatives have made a truce with the vampires. For another, it’s way too hot to wear leather.

At first, it seems Anu’s biggest challenge will be evading the nice boys her aunt wants her to marry. But when children start disappearing, she discovers forces older and darker than anything she’s faced before. All of Delhi is in danger, especially the sexy stranger who sets Anu’s pulse racing.

To prepare for the coming battle, Anu must overcome her personal demons and put aside years of training. This time, her most powerful weapon will come from her mind, not her weapons belt.

  Add at Goodreads | Buy at Amazon

My View: The book cover and the beginning reminded me of Legend. However, the similarities ended just a few pages into it.

I had this sort of love-hate relationship with this book. I loved the way it started. ‘A vampire read by an Indian author, one of its firsts. And a wow female character at that. This looks like a great read’ was what I was thinking. But well, my happiness didn’t last long.

The vampires gave way to saints, the stake gave way to astras and the book went downhill for me. ‘Alas’, I wondered. ‘If only the book had stuck to vampires and vampire hunters’.

The book also had some uncanny resemblance to Crewel but it is nowhere as good.

But wait, didn’t I say I had a love-hate relationship? Where did the love go then?

Well, I loved the mature writing that scarcely (I have to sadly admit) graces the pages of an Indian authored book. I loved the humor and ended up smiling and laughing out aloud so many times. I really liked the mature characters and the main character of Anu packs a punch, just love her! The chemistry between the characters, be it harmless flirtation, friendly hugs or sparkling sizzlers was just wow.

What I didn’t like was too much Indian-ization of the book which truly wasn’t necessary and would have made a great story without it. Too much of astras, mind-boggling theories and some amount of repetition didn’t go down well with me.

Will I be looking out for the second book in the series? Probably yes, because I see potential in the author. The plot may not have been great but the writing certainly was.

Overall, a great attempt at his first book. But I was left wanting for so much more. A good read, I would say.

3/5 stars – I liked it. download (8)

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

4 thoughts on “Tantra by Adi

  1. Well I guess I shall be skipping this one! I like the idea of something different with more mature writing but if it wasn’t done well then I don’t need to bother.

    Thanks for the great review!

    Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

