OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

13326677Date Published: July 23, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Pages: 341
Source: Local Library

Goodreads Synopsis: When Bea meets Beck, she knows instantly that he’s her kind of crazy. Sweet, strong, kinda-messed-up Beck understands her like no one else can. He makes her feel almost normal. He makes her feel like she could fall in love again.

But despite her feelings for Beck, Bea can’t stop thinking about someone else: a guy who is gorgeous and magnetic… and has no idea Bea even exists. But Bea knows a lot about him. She spends a lot of time watching him. She has a journal full of notes. Some might even say she’s obsessed.

Bea tells herself she’s got it all under control. But this isn’t a choice, it’s a compulsion. The truth is, she’s breaking down…and she might end up breaking her own heart.

Buy it here – Amazon India | Amazon US | The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View:  I had my sights set on this book even before it released last year. Although I got my hands on a review copy, I couldn’t get to it last year. So when I saw it in my library, I enthusiastically grabbed it.

The book began interestingly enough but soon seemed to lack lustre for me. I kept waiting for it to pick up, then waited for it to just get over and finally struggled for a month before being done with it. Phew! So glad it’s over.

I had high hopes set for this book and it dashed it all. A love story along with OCD interests me as a psychologist and a reader on so many levels. But this book dragged on with no obvious end in sight.

The characters didn’t make me feel and at times, seemed too bizarre. I get OCD, I see it all the time in my clinical practice and quite a lot of the information there was accurate and I applaud the author for it. But there had to be some editing in there.

Also, the story could have benefitted from, you know, actually having a story, rather than basing one on OCD symptoms. It isn’t a memoir after all. For a love story, the guy’s perspective was hardly shown and not even dealt with in its entirety, leaving things to the reader’s imagination. I am all for using my brain cells but at least make me want to do so. This book just made me want to fling it at the wall because it dragged on forever and I hate to leave books unfinished so I struggled through with it, wasting so much of my time. This 300+ page book could have easily been summed up in 200 and could have had an actual story, going by me.

The characters apart from Bea (the main one) are a bit unsteady and I found myself reading about them and saying ‘oh, really?’ in my head. They just don’t seem real enough, the situations seem vague and unlikely. Well, I can go on and on but I truly failed to understand the point that the book wanted to carry through.

Other readers have really liked the book so it may be my psychologist’s biased opinion and not just as a reader’s. So give this a chance at your own peril. I take no responsibility.

1.5/5 stars – The author has worked hard but the book really wasn’t for me. download

2 thoughts on “OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

  1. A li’l cruel critique of the novel, must say — compared to what GoodReads had to say. . 😀

    Will open the book anyway, Connemara Library has it and I live nearby!

    Since the book is titled “OCD” and it chronicles Bea’s obsession, isn’t it right that Beck’s opinion be not given primacy? Cos then it would lengthen the novel and turn out otherwise. .

    Like

    • Ah, I tried not to slam the book completely. I guess it really got on my nerves.

      Well, read the book and you will find out there’s more to OCD in there than only Bea having it. And that’s where my grudges span out from.

      This book didn’t go well with me on so many levels, I can’t even begin to say. Hope you fare better with it. Good luck!

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

