Insanity by Lauren Hammond

13557662Series: (Asylum #1)
Date Published: May 8, 2012
Publisher: S. B. Addison Books
Pages: 190
Source: Owned – Kindle
Format: Ebook

Goodreads Synopsis: Adelaide Carmichael and Damien Allen couldn’t be more opposite.

Adelaide’s mother abandoned her when she was ten years old, leaving her to be raised by her abusive and alcoholic father. Damien on the other hand came from a wealthy family, was a local celebrity, and seemed to have a bright future ahead of him.

Despite their differences, Adelaide and Damien were young, wild, and fiercely in love. And they had a plan. They were going to run away. Be together forever. And their plan was set in motion, until tragedy struck and for some reason, Adelaide wound up in The Oakhill Institution for the insane. Adelaide has no idea what she did to wind up at Oakhill, but she knows one thing for sure… She wants out.

And after Damien follows her there to aid her in escaping, Adelaide slowly begins putting together the pieces of her memory that are missing. And it doesn’t take Adelaide long to figure out that sometimes… That one true love never dies.

Warning:Do not read if you have a weak heart

Buy it here –  Amazon US (only 99 cents) | Add on Goodreads

My View: I read so many good things about this book and the fact that it took everyone by surprise, I had to read it to see for myself. Also, a book having the title ‘Insanity’ and talking about mental illness will attract any psychologist, won’t it? Especially a voracious reader like me.

So there I was, reading this book for a Goodreads Toppler (read ‘readathon’). With the book, the wait for the good and the surprising began. I read on and waited. I cringed at the first-sight love between a rich boy and poor girl, the characteristic hatred spewing boy’s mother and many such cliches. I still read on waiting for the elusive.

And did it come, you ask? Oh yes, it did. Somewhere near the end. There was a surprise that even my have-read-all-kind-of-books brain couldn’t conjure up. Did it make me happy? Umm, not really. Did it  make me want to grab the next book? Don’t think so. But why not? ‘The writing’, I would say. ‘The content’, I would point out. The author could have easily said this in much fewer pages instead of putting in multiple sexual escapades in order to increase the pages and make it a trilogy. Also, I read a couple of reviews on the third book and they are bad! It says, the ending wasn’t proper, it’s a novella, the author kept them waiting etc.

Frankly, I wasn’t too impressed with the story. I love mental illness stories and plan to write one myself but this one didn’t make the cut. I need content, I need story, I need good writing. One or more of these components were missing. I need better utilisation of my time (good editing) not nonsensical sexual scenes that have no value whatsoever.

2.5/5 stars – It was more than okay but nothing special.

2.5 stars

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

