For One More Day by Mitch Albom

Date Published: September 26, 2006
Publisher: Hyperion
Pages: 197
Source: Owned books
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis: “Every family is a ghost story…”

For One More Day is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one?

As a child, Charley “Chick” Benetto was told by his father, “You can be a mama’s boy or a daddy’s boy, but you can’t be both.” So he chooses his father, only to see the man disappear when Charley is on the verge of adolescence.

Decades later, Charley is a broken man. His life has been crumbled by alcohol and regret. He loses his job. He leaves his family. He hits bottom after discovering his only daughter has shut him out of her wedding. And he decides to take his own life.

He makes a midnight ride to his small hometown, with plans to do himself in. But upon failing even to do that, he staggers back to his old house, only to make an astonishing discovery. His mother, who died eight years earlier, is still living there, and welcomes him home as if nothing ever happened..

What follows is the one “ordinary” day so many of us yearn for, a chance to make good with a lost parent, to explain the family secrets, and to seek forgiveness. Somewhere between this life and the next, Charley learns the astonishing things he never knew about his mother and her sacrifices. And he tries, with her tender guidance, to put the crumbled pieces of his life back together.

Buy it here – Amazon India | FlipkartAmazon US| The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: I love Tuesdays with Morrie by the same author. I have also read The Five People You Meet in Heaven but can’t remember what I thought of it, it’s been too long.

Well, going by the blurb, I thought I needed this book right now. To spend a day with a loved one you have lost, such an interesting premise. But even though this book didn’t handle the subject as I thought it would, it did make for a good read nevertheless.

It has been a while since I have become more sensitive to my mother’s words and needs. Although I do falter every now and then, I try to make up for it. I don’t think I am still doing my best though. This book conveyed in a few words what all a mother does for a child and how easy it is for the child to brush it off until much later when it’s too late to make amends.

I like the themes Mitch Albom picks up, they are relevant and heartfelt and you end up with a message, something to learn and live by. His writing is simple and precise. The book is of just the right length, neither too short nor too huge. I finished it within a sitting. He writes simply and it makes for an interesting, effortless reading.

With Mitch’s books, I sometimes find myself wondering how fiction and non fiction they truly are. He does seem to be set off by a real life incident and perhaps fills in the gap with fiction although the books do seem like telling a real story, what with letters and invitations to boast of.

Although I would say it didn’t come up to the standards set by Tuesdays with Morrie, I render it’s not possible for an author to one up his books all the time. Give this book a read when you have some time on your hands to read as well as reflect.

3/5 stars – I liked it.download (8)

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

