Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Date Published: May 24, 2012
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Pages: 466
Source: Owned
Format: Paperback

Goodreads SynopsisWho are you?
What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

Buy it here – Amazon India | FlipkartAmazon US | The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: Early 2013, I was dabbling with the idea of getting an Audible Membership. I could take two freebies for my trial version. In my search for those two free books that would hopefully make me addicted to Audible, I went around my favorite Goodreads Group asking for suggestions. And Gone Girl came up as one. I grabbed it right away. I started listening to it on March 10, 2013. It was going good but then it became too slow for me (yeah, can you believe that?). I was almost 2/3rd into the audio when I quite gave up on it.

In the meantime, I bought a paperback as well. A year and a half down the line, with the movie coming up in theatres, I was adamant to give it another try if nothing else than to see what the hype was all about. And here I switched to paperback and started from scratch. Although I could not finish the book in time and ended up watching the movie first. The movie was pretty good, I would say. I had read 1/3rd of the book, remembered the second part from the audio so it was only the last one that was unknown to me. I think they did a decent job of getting it on big screen.

This is how my reading progress looks like on GR.

03/10/2013 page 16 3.0%
05/08/2013 page 200 42.92% “Slow but it’s taking a massive turn now..hmm..interesting, very interesting.”
11/04/2014 page 1 0.21% “Starting over again. Switched from audio to paperback now.”
11/16/2014 page 335 71.0% “”Come home so I can kill you.” Classic!”
11/17/2014 page 340 72.0% “‘One should never marry a man who doesn’t own a decent set of scissors.’ Quite profound, eh?”
11/17/2014 marked as: read

After I had seen the movie, it did seem a bit senseless to finish the book but I kept at it until I was done.

So what are my afterthoughts? Well, to begin with, I would say too much hype really kills a book for me. Perhaps I would have liked it had my expectations not skyrocketed with all the good reviews. The book started off well, got a bit slow, then turned interesting again but somewhere down the line, I lost interest. I agree the plot is mind-blowing, the characters quirky and absolutely insane and the book has all details taken well care of. It was a thrilling and unpredictable ride. But somehow the last part of it didn’t go down well with me. I would have rather had a different chain of events to end the book with. It’s difficult to say much about the book without giving it away.

It’s not bad at all, worth giving a shot. Maybe the editing could have been tighter and the end different but that would have changed the book completely. Just my opinion as a reader/ listener.

What did you think of Gone Girl – the book/ movie?

3/5 stars – I liked it.download (8)

10 thoughts on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn”

  1. I tried very hard to read this book as it got such hype, and lots of people seemed to love it. I didn’t make it very far. It was so slow. It was all telling and no showing. I often wonder if I should have given it a little more time to perk up. I found The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo slow going at first too but I stuck with that one and was very, very glad that I did. Anyway, I’m glad to know I wasn’t the only one who had problems with Gone Girl.

    Like

    1. Phew, I am so glad you felt the same. It took me months to get into the book. I was so psyched up by the hype and then found it too slow. I think it’s okay you didn’t finish it. You didn’t miss anything spectacular. I still have to read The Girl with the dragon tattoo.

      Like

  2. It has been a while since I read this book. It was a pick from my book club in 2013. That being said, I remember enough to throw some comment in. While the story was certainly a page-turner with the many twists and turns in storyline, I have to say it was not a favourite. By the end of the book, I struggled to come up with any character that I remotely liked. They were all crazy!

    And yes the ending could have been stronger. But no, I have no urge to see the movie.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read it or watched the movie, but I’m worrying the hype will make it less enjoyable. Maybe I’ll let it all die down for a while and try both of them after that 🙂

    Like

  4. I haven’t seen this movie yet. I’m waiting until it’s available from Netflix. But I did read the book before all the hype, in 2012. Here is what I thought then.

    Almost all of GONE GIRL is a five-star book, i.e., it deserves the highest rating. Every page of the book builds more and more tension. It really is the best kind of book: unputdownable.

    But the last part of the book gets a little stupid, silly. And the end: other reviewers have said that it comes as a surprise. True. But I didn’t like it. It is as if Flynn couldn’t think of an end to the story so just stopped.

    Personally, I think the end should be rewritten.

    Thank you to readitforward.com for giving me this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

