Drowning by Rachel Firasek

Series: Tears of Sin #1
Date Published: October 26, 2013
Publisher: Naedge
Pages: 263
Source: Borrowed
Format: Kindle ebook

Goodreads Synopsis: *Drowning is a New Adult Contemporary Romance suited for 18+ due to some violence, language, and sexual content*

“I dare you.”

Those words would change adrenaline junkie, Alice Harrison’s life forever. She’s a party girl that doesn’t believe in love until she meets a man that only writes about it.

Seth James escaped his overbearing father and moved into one of the James family’s vacant condos, hoping to create the music he loves in peace. But the fragile calm he’s envisioned shatters when a tiny woman with a world full of energy bounces out of the elevator and nearly takes him out.

With the patience of a saint, Seth seeks the dark that keeps Alice from enjoying life. He challenges her to exorcise the demons in her past in order to discover the true meaning of love. But when the walls fall down, the hidden deceptions will bare the ugly truth about a woman drowning in sorrow and a man who may not know how to be her hero.

Buy it here – Amazon India | FlipkartAmazon US (99 cents only!)| The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View:  Having read The Last Beginning by Rachel Firasek (and having liked it okay – read my review here), I was of the opinion, this book would fare the same if not better. Woah, was I wrong? And let me get this straight, going by GR reviews, I am probably the only one who didn’t like this book.

I dived in with a lot of expectations, considering the author. But I figure I might have a problem with New Adult because all those books seem like a copy of one another to me. A guy with a problematic past. A girl with past troubles. They meet, fall in love, want to make each other’s life better. Oh, please. I am so done with these. Alright, even if you want to bring the same idea again and again, better make it innovative but realistic. Most authors lose me there. It’s either the same, boring thing all over again or something different but way off the reality mark for it to be believable.

I would applaud the author for the fact that the sexual scenes don’t enter the book for the first half, which is a major feat in itself in a New Adult book. Well done, Ms. Firasek. But apart from that, everything else is a mumbo-jumbo.

The book showed some promise to begin with and I was hoping for good things to follow. But nope. Guy sees girl and vice versa and they fall in love. They know something just clicks. I am so pissed with this. This does not happen in real life (atleast not that I know of). You are writing a 300 page book, devote 10 to let them fall in love. But no, that doesn’t happen. It’s love at first sight, you see.

And then some things just fall in place – James’ family and friends love Alice from the very beginning, even his father likes her. While some keeps on repeating – Alice’s father, for instance, will be after her life for something he wants from her but will not tell her what it is (‘You know what you took. Give it back!). Are you kidding me? And this happens not once but twice. I just lost my nerve there.

Also, the fact that the main characters would try and stay away from each other (because they are idiots) and find themselves in each other’s arms again and again. Are you serious? Like Whaaatt??

The only reason I kept going on with the book was my adamant self that refuses to leave books unfinished. I struggled so much for it to finish and was glad when it did. This book was a mess for me. Nothing made sense, some things were unbelievable, the characters unpredictable (read inconsistent).

Perhaps you should check out the 4-5 star reviews on GR before deciding if or not you want to read it. I, most likely, am an anomaly in this case.

1/5 stars – Struggled to finish, just not my cup of tea.1 star

4 thoughts on “Drowning by Rachel Firasek

  1. Anuj says:

    “You are writing a 300 page book, devote 10 to let them fall in love. But no, that doesn’t happen. It’s love at first sight, you see.” Hahaha great, caustic, angry review , you tore the author and his clichéd theory apart. If he reads it, he’ll sure as hell stop writing it again.

    Like

    • Well, I have the utmost respect for the author. I have read and liked one of her books. I just didn’t like this one. I encourage all writing, even if I don’t end up liking it, others do. It just didn’t work out for me and hence the line about giving this one a go based on other reviews.

      Like

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

