The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

Series: The Bone Season #2
Date Published: January 27, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury India
Pages: 506
Source: Review copy provided by Bloomsbury India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis: Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London…

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

Buy it here – Amazon India | FlipkartAmazon US | The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

Here’s an Audio clip from Audible if you’d rather listen to the book.

My View: Ah, where to begin? Let me take a deep, deep breath first. Oh God, I think I am still in the world of Scion. Watching that breathtaking action with my own eyes, recoiling in fear for Paige’s safety, wishing with bated breath that my favorite characters come out of this book alive. *sigh* That’s really all I have to say.

Compared to the difficulties I faced with The Bone Season, this one’s been easier on my mind. Now that the world building has been done for the most part, there is less of information to take in and more of hard-hitting action, just the kind I like. And with a female character to top it all, ah, an icing on the cake.

Not to say that there are no new facts or terms, plenty indeed. I thank my stars I read the two books back to back. I do not envy those who had to wait for an year and a half to read this one. That would certainly be mind-numbing at best and a disorienting experience at its worst. But now that I am done with this one, I have to wait another year for the next in the series and believe me when I say it’s pure torture.

Samantha Shannon has done it yet again. Her prowess in the field of creation and imagination is unrivaled. She will grab the rug beneath your feet in an instant and you will be left gaping. I love how she keeps me on my toes throughout, always being a step ahead of the confines my mind can take me to. It’s almost like having a ring of roses with her (read the book to know what I’m hinting at) and it’s thrilling to say the least. Exhilarating indeed.

This one is a page turner for sure. I did myself a mini marathon of the two books and spent all my time (apart from work hours) reading away, much to the chagrin of my family and friends. Also, there just might be a pile of work in the background giving me the evil eye. Gah! I guess I will get to it before it plans on entering my dreamscape and pushing my spirit out of my body. I think it’s gonna be a while when I turn to the ordinary English vocabulary once again. Till then, stay away from the poltergeists and make sure your mask is in place. Oh and watch out for those cold spots lest an Emim catch you in its throes. *insert hysterical laughter here*

4/5 stars –  I really liked it.

4 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Bloomsbury India for providing the review copy.

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

