Power Play by Danielle Steel

Date Published: March 13, 2014
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Pages: 352
Source: Review Copy provided by Random House India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis: Fiona Carson has proven herself as CEO of a multibillion-dollar high-tech company – a successful woman in a man’s world. Devoted single mother, world-class strategist, and tough negotiator, Fiona has to keep a delicate balance every day.

Meanwhile, Marshall Weston basks in the fruits of his achievements. At his side is his wife Liz who has gladly sacrificed her own career to raise their three children. Smooth, shrewd and irreproachable, Marshall’s power only enhances his charisma – but he harbors secrets that could destroy his life at any moment.

Both must face their own demons, and the lives they lead come at a high price. But just how high a price are they willing to pay?

POWER PLAY is a compelling, heart-rending portrayal of love, family and career – the perfect read for fans of Penny Vincenzi, Susan Lewis and Lesley Pearce.

Buy it here – Amazon India | FlipkartAmazon US | The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: It had been quite some time since I read Steel and I had almost forgotten what it was like. So when I saw this opportunity, I jumped at it. Oh, a random fact that I came across, she was born a day before India got her independence. Striking coincidence.

Woah, she sure is a writing machine. She has 200+ distinct works listed on Goodreads and she works on more than one book at a time! I wish I had her brains and writing skills. She is still writing away and she’s almost 70! I hope my brains continue to run by the time I am that age.

Anyway, about the book, I am glad to have come across it at just the right time. I needed an easy read that would read itself while I lay around. It did do that for the most part except when it elicited emotions in me that weren’t so friendly. When the lazy read became an edge of the seat thriller and I was almost afraid to look for fear that something bad will happen. Yeah, it’s one of those books.

Although I was hoping for a more intense connection between the two protagonists since the writer was closely following their lives, it turned out that the reader was merely to look at the gender differences between the power roles. And that one did see. But I wish there was some connection to tie them both together somehow.

The book does seem to end on a happy note if one may call it that. There could have been a myriad set of endings going with that storyline. This was the one Steel had in mind.

I did enjoy the story for it’s being an easy read but I think my other Steel reads have been better and so I was looking for more perhaps.

Nevertheless, this makes for a good, breezy read highlighting the difference between power play among the genders. Not always true but mostly so.

3/5 stars – I liked it. 3 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Random House India for providing the review copy.

4 thoughts on “Power Play by Danielle Steel

  1. Mahée Ferlini says:

    Great review, you have me genuinely interested! And I like the fact that I can expect a happy ending or can I call it that? Thank you!

    Like

  2. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    It’s amazing how many books some authors have written. Had no idea she was still writing. I think I read one of hers years and years ago. Might be time to try again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments make my day. I read them all. :) Note: This blog is an Award-Free Zone.

