25 hours, 50 books! Upto 60% off!


3b621b8c

So what is this thing?

The Countdown promotion will run for 25 hours, starting at 9am BST, Tuesday 1 July 2014. There will be a new book available on our homepage for a great price every 30 minutes. The last one will go up Wednesday 2 July at 9:30am BST.

Can I buy all the books?

You can buy as many of the books as you like; we offer free worldwide delivery, so there is no harm in shopping again & again throughout the day. You are however limited to three copies of each book per person — it’s only fair that as many people as possible get to grab a bargain.

What happens if I’m checking out and the books run out?

The book you’re ordering is only definitely yours when you see the confirmation page — up to that point if someone beats you to it, then sorry you’re out of luck. We hope everyone will get at least one of the titles they’re after.

These offers are really good, are they the same books as normal?

Yes — we’ve done some very special deals with some very special publishers to bring you these great bargains.

Oops. In all the excitement I bought a book I don’t want.

That’s fine. Don’t panic — just cancel your order using our online cancellation form.

Is there a way to find out what the next offer is?

No, sorry, the fact it’s a secret is all part of the fun!

I added a book to my basket and it was removed, what happened?

Sorry, the book sold out during the time it took to add it to your basket, better luck next time.

I fell asleep waiting for the next product and missed it — can I still get it at the offer price somehow?

Sorry, no. These offers are known as WIGIGs in the trade (When It’s Gone, It’s Gone); after the offer is over you’ll often be able to buy the book again but at the normal price.

How long are you doing the offer for?

A new title will be added from 9am BST on Tuesday 1 July to 9:30am BST on Wednesday 2 July. Then we’ll all need a bit of a lie down.

Are the products on offer still shipped for free?

Yes, indeed they are. We have free worldwide delivery.

Are there any tricks to get through the checkout quickly?

We recommend that you set up an account (although you don’t need one to shop) and add a credit card ready, save fumbling around when too excited (though you will still need your CVV number).

 

 

Don’t miss out!

A Year in Recap

So I have been gone a really long time. And though life’s been a rollercoaster, it doesn’t mean I gave up on books and reading. I slowed down, yes. But  gave up, never. This is a glimpse into a month-by-month account of my reading since I last reported in July 2013. It also gives a hint of the reviews coming up in the near future. I am back, yes, and I hope to stay this time around. *Fingers crossed*

 

May 2014

April 2014

March 2014

February 2014

January 2014

17337421

December 2013

November 2013

October 2013

September 2013

August 2013

 

Any book reviews you are especially looking forward to? I will speed them up. :) What have you been reading this year?

Gadget Launch: Micromax XL A119

A new phone is being launched in the market. It’s the Micromax XL A119. You can watch the launch on 19th January at 10am and 9pm on Homeshop18 TV channel and on Homeshop website.


canvas XLProduct name: Micromax XL A119
Product code: 31229413
MRP - Rs.14999/- with 1 Harris Smith Watch worth Rs.2499 + TPC Aviator Sunglasses worth Rs.2999 + Rs.1000 GC
HS18 Price - Rs.13990/-


Features-

    6” QHD Display
    1.3 Ghz Quad Core
    3G HSPA+
    8 MP , 5 MP Front
    Android 4.2 Jelly Beans
    4 GB ROM + 1 GB RAM



USP:A119 ID_1

· 1st time in India a 6 inch micromax canvas

· Exclusive launch on homeshop18.

· Price challenge – 6 inch phone with the best features at an unbelievable price point

· Unbelievable price

· QHD screen

· 1 GB RAM

· 6000 worth freebie – includes Rs .1000 GC from homeshop18

· Only 6 inch phone with 1 hand operation.

· Other phones with comparable features in the market at the price range of 40-50 K .


All these features at such a reasonable price and look at those freebies!
I would say that this is an amazing offer by HomeShop18, one which you should take advantage of. So, watch the launch and grab the phone!


25 hours, 50 books! Massive Sale at TBD!

Nov-50bks_header_main25 hours, 50 books! Massive Sale!

So what is this thing?

The Countdown promotion will run for 25 hours, starting at noon GMT, Thursday 28 November 2013. There will be a new book available on the UK homepage for a great price every 30 minutes. The last one will go up Friday 29 November 2013 at 12:30pm GMT.

Can I buy all the books?

You can buy as many of the books as you like; we offer free worldwide delivery, so there is no harm in shopping again & again throughout the day. You are however limited to three copies of each book per person — it’s only fair that as many people as possible get to grab a bargain.

What happens if I’m checking out and the books run out?

The book you’re ordering is only definitely yours when you see the confirmation page — up to that point if someone beats you to it, then sorry you’re out of luck. We hope everyone will get at least one of the titles they’re after.

These offers are really good, are they the same books as normal?

Yes — we’ve done some very special deals with some very special publishers to bring you these great bargains.

Oops. In all the excitement I bought a book I don’t want.

That’s fine. Don’t panic — just let us know via the form on our contact us page and we’ll cancel the order for you, as long as it hasn’t already shipped.

Is there a way to find out what the next offer is?

No, sorry, the fact it’s a secret is all part of the fun!

I added a book to my basket and it was removed, what happened?

Sorry, the book sold out during the time it took to add it to your basket, better luck next time.

I fell asleep waiting for the next product and missed it — can I still get it at the offer price somehow?

Sorry, no. These offers are known as WIGIGs in the trade (When It’s Gone, It’s Gone); after the offer is over you’ll often be able to buy the book again but at the normal price.

How long are you doing the offer for?

A new title will be added from noon GMT on Thursday 28 November to 12:30pm GMT on Friday 29 November. Then we’ll all need a bit of a lie down.

Are the products on offer still shipped for free?

Yes, indeed they are. We have free worldwide delivery.

Are there any tricks to get through the checkout quickly?

We recommend that you set up an account (although you don’t need one to shop) and add a credit card ready, save fumbling around when too excited (though you will still need your CVV number).

Don’t miss it!

Product Review: Ultramintz

Try the sugar-free chill pill

Presenting premium and powerful sugar-free mintz: 60 extra strong pellets packed in a stylish black tin case. Each pellet is made from peppermint oils from France, finest quality menthol and is powered by speciality cooling compounds.Prepare yourself for unimaginable cooling with mint-o Ultramintz. Freeze your senses!

When I saw this amazing opportunity to try and review Ultramintz, I was all for it. But the best part was when it arrived! Look at the packaging!

2013-07-29 14.54.17

And here’s the inside. Look at all that gorgeousness!

2013-07-29 18.01.57

And now take a look at the real thing! It’s so easy to carry and so beautiful to look at.

2

Regarding the real deal, I popped up a few (they are so tiny) and…and… the verdict is.. mind-blowingly refreshing! One little pellet packs such a punch! It not just cools, it is literally like a breath of fresh air! Ahh…. Can you feel the freshness on my breath? ;)

And if that isn’t enough to satisfy you, let me tell you that it works wonders if you have a bad throat. It soothes and relieves. So not just a breath freshener but a tasty throat remedy too. What more do you want?

It’s so addictive (in a good way, of course) that it’s hard to just pop one and let go. I finished my little box of coolness and am craving for more!!

Now talking about why it suits my style… why is that even a question? Don’t you know how cool I am?! Like Ultramintz, I have my own style, be it in terms of how I dress up or how I am within. Ultramintz has a lovely outer packaging and it’s little case makes it look so sophisticated and makes it very easy to carry. Also, like Ultramintz, from within, I am refreshingly amazing and addictive. I am like a breath of fresh air in this stale peopled environment! Also, I am irreplaceable when you need me like when Ultramintz is, especially when you are going on a quick, unexpected date and need your breath to be tangy fresh. So there. Isn’t Ultramintz the perfect companion to me and to you?

Now remember whenever someone tells you to take a chill pill, you know what to have… Ultramintz! The pill that will cool you down. I haven’t personally tried yet but am pretty sure it will work wonders for when someone’s angry. A must advised pill for anger management. And the tagline would be… the pill that will chill you. ;)

So with those many advantages of this little pellet, what are you still waiting on? Ladies and gentleman, you may forget to carry your debit card but you’ll be doomed if you forgot this. It has multiple uses – give it to your boss to calm him/her down, pop in before a quick kiss, mend that sore throat, help out a hungry friend (true story, LOL) or just take a freshness break from work and tension. Pop one and everything’s taken care of!

Don’t wait anymore. Go grab it now!

Like Ultramintz on Facebook | Follow on Twitter

“I am reviewing mint-o Ultramintz as a part of the Product Reviews Program at BlogAdda”

Month Wrap Up: June & July 2013

Since I hardly read in June, I am combining this post for the last two months.

I finished reading in June

I read in July

17407711

I’m in the middle of

Book(s) of the Month

 &  (Kindle Freebie. 5 stars. Highly recommended.)

 

Total Books read in June: 7

Total Books read in July: 14

Books carried over to August: 7

Total Books read this year: 98

Total pages read this year: 22020

How was July for you reading wise?

 

Book Launch: Happy Birthday & Other Stories

I hardly go to book launch events as they’re too late in the day for me to be there but when this invitation landed in my inbox, I decided to give it a chance. And that is how I came to be at the book launch of Happy Birthday! and other stories by Meghna Pant. The author has previously written and been appreciated for her book, One and a Half Wife.

The surprise of the day was (which I already knew because you know how thoroughly I research authors before going to an event) that it was Meghna Pant’s Birthday and it was so fitting as her book is named Happy Birthday.

The book was unveiled by author, actor, marketing and management guru, Suhel Seth who also went on to read one of the stories from the book, ‘The Gola Master’. His flawless and brilliant voiceover of the story lent itself to a mesmerizing listening experience. The story itself was stark, bare and real in its essence and made one ponder over it.

50% of the proceeds from the book will go to Safar Trust, a Mumbai-based NGO that helps slum children and trafficked girls lead financially stable lives and a video was shown to that effect. It was very touching indeed.

Add on Goodreads | Buy on Amazon

Author Meghna Pant who is in the process of writing her third book, ‘Son of Gods’ talked about her writing process IMG_0202and how this short stories’ book almost flowed out of her spontaneously unlike her first one where she edited and re-edited. She said it was almost like asking a mother to choose her favorite child when she was asked about her favorite story from the book. Nevertheless, she said she really liked ‘Clip and Cane’ which is about a blind person. She further added it was difficult for her to write it, to get into the mindframe of a blind person and thus the story stands out for her. She also likes another story ‘Lemon and Chilli’ which got published earlier and spreads over a spectrum of emotions.

When asked about her writing process, she talked about her crazy imagination and how from one line or one character, she ends up building a novel around it.

When asked how much of her work is autobiographical, she answered with, ‘I hate navel gazing. I want to explore dimensions that I have not yet experienced. Most of the stories are from the perspective of old, retired gentlemen’. She went on to elaborate how she never even knew her grandfather but she is still able to anticipate their fears, and needs. She further added that via her stories she experiences something that may happen to her in the future.

Regarding how her stories come together in a single collection, she said that unlike being woven with a central theme, all her stories are disparate and each story is an individual master in that sense.

About her next work, she mentioned working on a sexual and adult theme which of course, gathered a lot of interest from the audience.

A self-proclaimed crazy writer, she talked about being possessed by writing. She talked about how she was a business writer and having a MBA in finance, she wasn’t supposed to be a writer but now writing has taken over her.

When asked the short story writers who influenced her, she mentioned Premchand whose ‘Kafan‘ she adored. She also mentioned liking Alice Munro, O’ Henry‘s story endings, Paul Theroux, Franz Kaffka, Michael Cunningham’s ‘White Angel’ which was beautifully written and Preeta Samarasan.

Praised and grilled for churning out a book a year, we can now expect more books from Meghna Pant as she says she is now unemployed since 2 weeks which means she’ll have more time to write. So buckle up your seat belts and wait for her next book after you’re done reading this one because I’m sure that’s coming right up. ;)

Happy Birthday & Other Stories

Happy Birthday! (Random House, India) is a beautifully written, compelling and emotionally intelligent collection of short stories by award-winning novelist Meghna Pant. These finely nuanced stories provide a rare glimpse into the complex and mysterious inner lives of human beings.

A dedicated friend undertakes one last labour of love for a childless woman. Nadia – married into money – finds herself facing uncomfortable truths about her comfortably numb marriage. A Mumbai slum-girl dreams of speaking words valuable enough to be translated into English. An American tourist seeking nirvana sets off a sudden chain of events when his bag is stolen, and destiny plays her hand. A retired civil servant of modest means struggles to support his snooty foreign-returned daughter.

Meghna Pant’s knife – sharp stories are compelling, emotionally intelligent and provide a rare glimpse into the strange workings of the human heart. They evade neat categorization and
are the perfect read for all curious spirits.

“These are stories with a large heart and a keen eye, deeply aware of the complex, sometimes uncomfortable realities of India, its many layers. Meghna Pant knows how to create characters that will surprise and move you.”
– Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

“Deft, merciless and expertly-tuned parables for the new Indian century.”
– Jeet Thayil

“Meghna Pant pierces one’s heart with the reality and depth of her stories, wrapping up her tales with unanticipated yet undeniable flourish. Exceptionally thought-provoking narratives that manage to be provocative and inspirational in the very same breath.”
– Ashwin Sanghi

“These intimate stories juxtapose a range and register of aerial and emotional perspectives, with craft, delicacy and an intensely human sensibility.”
– Namita Gokhale

About Meghna Pant

Meghna Pant is an author and financial journalist. One & A Half Wife—Meghna’s debut novel—was published in 2012 to critical and commercial acclaim. It went into multiple reprints, won the Muse India’s Young Writer Award, and was shortlisted for several other awards, including the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. Meghna’s short stories have been published in over a dozen global literary magazines, including Avatar Review, Wasafari, Eclectica and QLRS. An economics graduate with an MBA in finance, Meghna has worked as a TV anchor for Times Now, NDTV Profit and Bloomberg-UTV. A nomad at heart, she has lived in Delhi, Singapore, Zurich, Dubai and New York City. She is currently based in Mumbai. Meghna will be donating fifty per cent of the proceeds from Happy Birthday! to Safar Trust, a Mumbai-based NGO that helps slum children and trafficked girls lead financially stable lives. Happy Birthday! is Meghna’s first published collection of short stories.

Find Meghna Pant – Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

The Story Behind My Disappearance

download

Hi!

Not sure if you guys missed me  but I have been AWOL since more than a month now, the longest I have ever been away from the blog. I really wanted to drop in and post that I’ll be away but I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Let me give you a gist of what really happened. If you have been following my blog and my very once-in-a-while personal posts, you would know I was feeling bit let down due to some issues in my personal life but every time I managed to bounce back. But this time things just got worse and the problems extended to my professional life as well as family. Things were really bad to say the least. I was in a reading/blogging slump not to mention I was almost in the throes of depression. Yes, I will come out vulnerable here and say that. I know as a mental health professional, people have certain expectations of us. But at the end of the day, we are human too. I was really down for a long time. And then I decide to spring back but perhaps the means that I decided to do that wasn’t a long term solution. I busied myself with social networking as a means of escape. And did manage to function for a while but of course that couldn’t have lasted long and I fell deeper this time.

I am trying to pick myself yet again. Not to say I’m really back but I decided enough was enough. I might not have control over other areas of my life but this, blogging, I have full control over. I need that kind of control in my life right now. I need to know I have something I can rely on.

Thanks to a Goodreads Group challenge, I have read 6 books in the last 2 days and now I want to continue with the reading and restart with the blogging.

I know I have disappointed authors, publishers and book tour coordinators by missing a lot of posts. I haven’t replied to emails. I hereby send out a huge apology to everyone including you my dear readers. I am sorry to have pulled a vanishing act on you. I have been meaning to write this post since forever now but just couldn’t make myself get up and do it.

Soon, I will be clearing out my inbox which has more than 2000 unread emails. Slowly I will get through them all and reply back. I will be doing all the reviews I missed out on. I am sorry for having disappointed all of you and sincerely hope that this situation never comes again.

Although my life might not be on track in the very near future, I look forward to being here and basking in your love which will speed up my recovery process. Thank you for being there. :)

On a happy note, I have made a FB account exclusively for Reviewing Shelf. If you would like to add me there, click here.

I also received an email saying I am top 1% reviewer at Goodreads.

Also, I have received my very first book for betareading! I’m so excited.

And I’m ghost writing a self-help/psychology book for a publishing company. Even though my name would be nowhere on the book, I can use the practice for that one day when I might be writing a book of my own.

Yay, I’m so excited to be back. I missed you guys.

100 books, 100 offers, 25 hours!

100BooksinfoJune_336x280The Book Depository is back with a bang yet again! Their 24-hour sale is  bigger than ever. They now have 100 books on offer over 25 hours. A new bargain will be up every 15 minutes instead of one per hour.

The Countdown promotion will run for 25 hours, starting at noon BST, Thursday 20 June 2013. There will be a new book available on the UK homepage for a great price every 15 minutes. The last one will go up Friday 21 June 2013 at 12:45pm BST.

So don’t forget to grab those great deals. I am surely going to be awake all these hours. Better go grab some sleep now!

Norma Jean by Amanda Heath & Giveaway (INT)

normajeanECOVERjpgNorma Jean
By: Amanda Heath

Blurb:
The night Chance Duncan drunkenly kissed me on his couch, I vowed my revenge. I finally had something over his head, something that would bring him to his knees. It only served him right. He bullied me for years and turned me into this messed up person I am now. Though I didn’t know at the time he wasn’t that mean little boy
anymore. He was almost a man and easily stole my breath away. I just wanted to make him fall in love with me, then break his heart into a million pieces. Just the way mine was. Instead he put the pieces back together and I started to feel whole again.

Good things never last. He did what I was supposed to do. Broke my already fragile heart all over again. Betrayed and alone I fled my home town and started a new life where I wasn’t in the shadow of what I did.

Now he is back and trying to worm his way into my heart, again. Though he will never know it will always belong to him. He hurt me and I want nothing to do with him. Life has other plans. Doesn’t it always? He doesn’t know though. Doesn’t know what I’m hiding or who I’m hiding from. I never thought I would see Chance again and I’m afraid that he’ll get hurt getting mixed up in my mess. Though he is right in the middle of it, without even knowing it. I have to find a way for us to get out, before somebody dies.

My name is Norma Jean and this isn’t a fairytale.

*This title is a new adult novel and not for those under 18 for sexual content and subject matter.*

Add NORMA JEAN TO YOUR Goodreads TBR List.

PURCHASE LINKS: AMAZON KINDLE / AMAZON PAPERBACK / BARNES & NOBLE NOOK / KOBO

My View: Woah, just look at that cover! It kind of takes my breath away. There’s this raw, sensual feel to it. Just wow!

The book starts off on a great note. A beautiful girl, a twisted moment and an idea of revenge, I like that! The plot is pretty innovative, to say the least. I like the way this New Adult plot develops.

The name of the book as the name of the main protagonist is very unique and fresh in itself. The characters are well developed. The story moves at a decent pace. There are various twists and turns to keep up the interest.

Overall, this book entails a different plot and a decent read.

Author Bio:

Amanda lives in southern Arkansas with her husband and young child. She enjoys reading, writing, and drinking tons of Dr. Pepper. You can find her sitting on the couch with either her head in a book or typing on her laptop. Amanda is the author of This Beautiful Thing, Fire In Her Eyes, Angel Cuffs, and Norma Jean. Wrong Kind of Love will be released this June.

Author Stalker Links: Facebook / Blog / Twitter / GoodreadsAuthor Page

Blog Tour Giveaway (INT)
Enter for your chance to win: Signed Paperback, ecopy, signed bookmarks

Enter here.

For other tour dates click the photo below:

 photo 07020157-575c-487f-9df5-3e748de135fc_zps55b7b1cf.jpg

Secret for a Song by S. K. Falls & Giveaway

SecretForASongCoverSecret for a Song  by S.K. Falls
Publication date: June 3rd, 2013
Genre: NA Coming-of-Age

Synopsis: Saylor Grayson makes herself sick. Literally.She ate her first needle when she was seven. Now, at nineteen, she’s been kicked out of college for poisoning herself with laxatives. The shrinks call it Munchausen Syndrome. All Saylor knows is that when she’s ill, her normally distant mother pays attention and the doctors and nurses make her feel special.Then she meets Drew Dean, the leader of a local support group for those with terminal diseases. When he mistakes her for a new member, Saylor knows she should correct him. But she can’t bring herself to, not after she’s welcomed into a new circle of friends. Friends who, like Drew, all have illnesses ready to claim their independence or their livesFor the first time, Saylor finds out what it feels like to be in love, to have friends who genuinely care about her. But secrets have a way of revealing themselves. What will happen when Saylor’s is out?

GOODREADShttp://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17689281-secret-for-a-song

PURCHASE: 

Direct purchase links are not yet available, but you can find it here come release day: http://www.amazon.ca/s?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=S.K.%20Falls&search-alias=digital-text

My Views: “She ate her first needle when she was seven.”

Can you explain your reaction after you have read the above sentence? Because that is how the book starts and that’s exactly how it hooked me in with its very first sentence. And it never really did let me go.

I LOVED the plot! It’s unlike any New Adult plot out there which is a major plus. Because I’m really tired of all the similar themes going around in the name of New Adult. This one just shines out, it’s completely different from anything I have ever read.

And oh, did I tell you that I absolutely love that cover. It’s so stunning! Also, I have read another book by the author written under the pen name of Adriana Ryan - World of Shell and Bone  (read my review) which I absolutely loved. So of course, I jumped at the chance of reading this one. Now it’s official. I am a fan of Ms. S. K. Falls aka Adriana Ryan for life. I have already got her other books on my TBR and would highly recommend you to give her books a try too.

Anyway, coming back to the book, I love the characters. The main protagonist is such an amazing character, the way she has been etched out is superb! Full points to the author for bringing about the disorder with such clarity and uniqueness. Other characters are really well written too. I fell in love with so many of them.

The book is heart-tugging and I loved the whole psychological angle to it. Pretty interesting.

The pace is really good, at no point did I feel I had had enough or it was too slow. The story kept me on my toes throughout.

Overall, I was completely bowled over by this book. A great quick read which is emotional and intense. Highly recommended.

4.5 stars – Between ‘I really liked it’ and ‘I loved it’.download (9)

Giveaway  (US/CAN)

[3 winners] Secret for a Song e-reader/tablet covers (will fit any reader)

Enter here.

AUTHOR BIO

Adriana Ryan is the pen name of writer S.K. Falls. 

A huge fan of spooky stuff and shoes, I enjoy alternately hitting up the outlet malls and historic graveyards in Charleston, SC where I live and imbibe coffee. My husband and two small children seem not to mind when I hastily scribble novel lines on stray limbs in the absence of notepads.

Since no writer’s biography is complete without mention of her menagerie of animals, you should know I have one dog that doubles as a footstool, a second that functions as a vacuum cleaner, and a cat that ensures I never forget that my hands are, first and foremost, for pouring cat food.

Author Links:

Website: http://www.skfalls.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7023689.S_K_Falls

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorskfalls

Twitter: https://twitter.com/skfallssc