What have I been reading?

I have been away from the blogging world but certainly not the reading even though it reduced significantly. Here’s a recap of what I have read since 2015. You can expect some of these reviews in the next few posts.

July 2016

June 2016

May 2016

April 2016

March 2016

February 2016

January 2016

December 2015

November 2015

October 2015

September 2015

August 2015

July 2015

June 2015

May 2015

April 2015

March 2015

February 2015

January 2015

 

Have you read/ loved/ disliked any of these? Any reviews that I might read on your blog for one or more of these books? Comment with links and I will come visit.

 

Upcoming Post: Have you visited this booklover’s heaven? Stay tuned for more.

Comeback Announcement!

book-774837__180Ah! I have waited for this moment for so long now that it almost seems surreal. I wrote my last post on May 12, 2015. At that time, I told myself to take a little break while I pen down my PhD thesis. I assured myself I will be back in no time having submitted by thesis in a jiffy. Boy, could I have been more wrong! I really should have realised long back that PhD is a kind of monster that has a life of its own. No matter what your goals, deadlines and plans are, it takes its own sweet time reaching the finish line. And that’s precisely what happened. So here I am now. It’s been a month since I submitted by thesis. Woot woot! Not so much. There’s still the much dreaded viva to await but oh well, I can’t wait anymore. So here I am, announcing my comeback. My reading did suffer a lot this past year but I haven’t totally given up. That can never happen. Never. So I have hoards of books to review and hoards more to read. And I went to a super special place last month that I am dying to tell you about. So that’s going to be my post right after the one where I tell you what I have been reading this past year. You have to, have to, totally watch out for it.

I hope, really, really hope, I still have some readers who are reading my blog because I have so much to share. See ya all very soon!

25 hours, 50 books! Upto 60% off!

I love The Book Depository for its free shipping and I am a big fan of it’s 25 hours offers. I just wanted to spread the news. Happy book shopping!ūüėÄ Go crazy!

So what is this thing?

The Countdown promotion will run for 25 hours, starting at 9am BST, Tuesday 12 May 2015. There will be a new book available on our homepage for a great price every 30 minutes. The last one will go up Wednesday 13 May 2015 at 10 am BST.

Can I buy all the books?

You can buy as many of the books as you like; we offer free worldwide delivery, so there is no harm in shopping again & again throughout the day. You are however limited to three copies of each book per person — it’s only fair that as many people as possible get to grab a bargain.

What happens if I’m checking out and the books run out?

The book you’re ordering is only definitely yours when you see the confirmation page — up to that point if someone beats you to it, then sorry you’re out of luck. We hope everyone will get at least one of the titles they’re after.

These offers are really good, are they the same books as normal?

Yes — we’ve done some very special deals with some very special publishers to bring you these great bargains.

Oops. In all the excitement I bought a book I don’t want.

That’s fine, no worries. Just let us know via the form on ourcontact us page and we’ll cancel the order for you.

Is there a way to find out what the next offer is?

No, sorry, the fact it’s a secret is all part of the fun!

I added a book to my basket and it was removed, what happened?

Sorry, the book sold out during the time it took to add it to your basket, better luck next time.

I fell asleep waiting for the next product and missed it — can I still get it at the offer price somehow?

Sorry, no. These offers are known as WIGIGs in the trade (When It’s Gone, It’s Gone); after the offer is over you’ll often be able to buy the book again but at the normal price.

How long are you doing the offer for?

A new title will be added from 9am BST on Tuesday 1 July to 9:30am BST on Wednesday 2 July. Then we’ll all need a bit of a lie down.

Are the products on offer still shipped for free?

Yes, indeed they are. We have free worldwide delivery.

Are there any tricks to get through the checkout quickly?

We recommend that you set up an account (although you don’t need one to shop) and add a credit card ready, save fumbling around when too excited (though you will still need your CVV number).¬†

Don’t miss out!

Who, Me? by Tina Sharma Tiwari

Date Published: April 2015
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Pages: 262
Source: Review Copy provided by Random House India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis: Is love only about how you look? Will a makeover change Tara’s life? Can it change anybody’s life? When plain Jane Tara is dumped by her fiancé at the altar for a stunning rich heiress, it shakes her confidence. However, she’s not ready to give up. She will do whatever it takes to win her Arun back. Even if it means undergoing a complete makeover!

The school reunion is her big chance. So when Tara turns up there, completely transformed glamorous and sexy-she gets more than her fair share of attention, especially from Arun. It seems her plan is working. But soon the unexpected begins to happen and Tara finds herself in a dangerous situation. She stumbles upon secrets she’d never known. Life shows her how unpredictable it is!

Buy it here –¬†Amazon India¬†| Flipkart |¬†Add on Goodreads

My View:¬†If you read my blog diligently, you know my strange habit of being wary of Indian authors for the most part. I do like some of them like Jhumpa Lahiri and I did like Mohsin Hamid (read previous review). But most of them I don’t get along with in terms of the writing.

Since I had the pleasure of going to the book launch of this one, I decided to give it a go. Also, the fact that the author is a journalist helped me take that brave decision. So was my decision right? Let’s see.

I didn’t like the cover at¬†the first glance, it was only when I held the book in my hand was I able to appreciate that dual dressing bit and realised it was very clever and tastefully done. Well done, Pia Hazarika. I wonder why her name sounds familiar. Will look that up later.

Going past the cover, as is the norm, it took me some time to settle in with the writing. Over time, I didn’t find it difficult to traverse¬†my way through. There were absolutely no typos, no grammatical errors as was expected of a journalist cum writer and I am glad for that.

The book is set in chick lit genre and I believe I knew that when I started reading it. Over my reading though, the book seemed to have transcended its genre from chick lit to thriller. I am not sure how I felt about it though.

The things that I liked about the book includes its being error-free and some very comical situations that had me smiling if not laughing out loud. Well done on that, you author, you!

Things that I would have liked to steer clear of – I understand chick lit does assume some innocence and stupid acts on the part of the protagonists but sometimes it got on my nerves (am I becoming a feminist by the day?). I know one shouldn’t compare books but I am reminded of Janet Evanovich series and how one tends to laugh a lot when reading her books but there are no hard feelings and no way-beyond-stupid acts. I think I had major issues with the book’s plot because I see women as strong and intelligent. Although I did see glimpses of those in another character, I somehow wanted the protagonist to have those too. I wanted to shake some sense into her. But, oh well, if I am feeling strongly for the characters, the author has done her job well, hasn’t she?

Another thing that irked me was the kind of mixing of genres, not that I mind it. But in this book, it seemed more of a forced entry than casual sneakiness. And somehow the reality was lost and the book became a hugely fictional, impossible account of a main character. That was when I realised I didn’t connect with the book any more.

Fantasies are all around us and we want to live in one. But for books termed any other genre than fantasy, I expect realistic situations and thus wasn’t too happy with the way the book advanced.¬†The plot wasn’t for me, personally. The characters, however, were well etched and thought out. And the writing was smooth and flowing.

If you’re into chick-lit and love some thrill mixed with it, you would like this easy, breezy read. I finished reading it in two days, so that’s something.

2/5 stars РIt was okay. 2stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Random House India for providing the review copy.

Book Launch: WHO, ME? BY TINA SHARMA TIWARI

Date: April 2, 2015
Time: 6:30pm
Venue: Monkey Bar, Vasant Kunj

I am unable to go to most book launches because either they are held in Mumbai or at obnoxiously early or late timings but this one was on the right day, at the right time, so I made it.

It wasn’t difficult to trace Monkey Bar at Vasant Kunj. I liked its ambience and the easy, casual mood. The service was good and the snacks delectable. The author, Tine Sharma Tiwari (senior journalist and anchor with Times Now) looked resplendent in a little black dress. She was soon joined by the ravishing Kanika Kapoor (playback singer, Baby Doll and Chittiyan Kalaiyan) and Rishi Raj, stylist.

rishi-raj-tina-sharma-kanika-kapoor_142831234750

And so began the chit chat and the book launch. Rishi Raj on his impression of the book said, “The book has a chick-lit cover and here’s where I would like to say that don’t judge the book by its cover. This story is about going beyond appearances and how important or not a superficial outward appearance is. One tends to assume who the other person is based on how he/she is dressed but that’s merely the tip of the iceberg, there’s more to them than that. It’s like you discover them page by page, as in the book.

The author, Tina Sharma pitched in here to say that the book is about self discovery and about women realizing that the only person they have to love is themselves.

On being asked how she relates to the book, playback singer, Kanika Kapoor said she did it in more ways than one- “I see my life in it, myself in it, every woman in it. It’s about the reality of life and what we go through. We have our inhibitions and fears. As a woman, you can’t be yourself. The day you start loving yourself, it will change your life, like it did for me. I look forward to reading the book.”

The book is about a physical makeover which leads to other discoveries by the protagonist about herself.

Rishi Raj went on to say “How you treat yourself is how the world treats you. I once did a makeover for a 50 year old clinically depressed client and it turned her life around.”

On being asked by Tina, how far will you go to change yourself for the person you love, Kanika replied that she would change herself and do everything for the person she loves. While Rishi Raj smartly quipped, “Let love do it for me instead of me doing it for love. I will do it for me and not because it will make someone else happy.”

Rishi Raj and Tina Sharma Tiwari then read from the book to give the audience a glimpse of what was in store for them.

tina-sharma-tiwari_142831234740

On being asked where she saw herself in the book, Tina replied, “The book is about friendship, the protagonist steps out from home for the first time, lives on her own while doing a job. She is tasting independence for the first time. I had a wonderful four year period where I was in a similar situation and I have written about it.”

On why she chose this title, Tina answered, “There is this point towards the end where comes a revelation for the protagonist and she realises someone she had always kept at length from herself had a crush on her and her reaction is “Who, Me?” and that’s where the title comes from.”

And with that the launch came to an end and I walked out with the book in my hand.


Buy it here- Amazon India | Flipkart | Add on Goodreads

Goodreads Synopsis:

Is love only about how you look? Will a makeover change Tara’s life? Can it change anybody’s life? When plain Jane Tara is dumped by her fiancé at the altar for a stunning rich heiress, it shakes her confidence. However, she’s not ready to give up. She will do whatever it takes to win her Arun back. Even if it means undergoing a complete makeover!

The school reunion is her big chance. So when Tara turns up there, completely transformed glamorous and sexy-she gets more than her fair share of attention, especially from Arun. It seems her plan is working. But soon the unexpected begins to happen and Tara finds herself in a dangerous situation. She stumbles upon secrets she’d never known. Life shows her how unpredictable it is!

Discontent and Its Civilizations: Dispatches from Lahore, New York, and London by Mohsin Hamid

Date Published: November 27, 2014
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Pages: 252
Source: Review Copy provided by Random House India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis:¬†From ‚Äúone of his generation‚Äôs most inventive and gifted writers‚ÄĚ (The New York Times) , intimate and sharply observed commentary on life, art, politics, and ‚Äúthe war on terror.‚ÄĚ

Mohsin Hamid‚Äôs brilliant, moving, and extraordinarily clever novels have not only made him an international bestseller, they have earned him a reputation as a ‚Äúmaster critic of the modern global condition‚ÄĚ (Foreign Policy). His stories are at once timeless and of-the-moment, and his themes are universal: love, language, ambition, power, corruption, religion, family, identity. Here he explores this terrain from a different angle in essays that deftly counterpoise the personal and the political, and are shot through with the same passion, imagination, and breathtaking shifts of perspective that gives his fiction its unmistakable electric charge.

A ‚Äúwater lily‚ÄĚ who has called three countries on three continents his home‚ÄĒPakistan, the birthplace to which he returned as a young father; the United States, where he spent his childhood and young adulthood; and Britain, where he married and became a citizen‚ÄĒHamid writes about overlapping worlds with fluidity and penetrating insight. Whether he is discussing courtship rituals or pop culture, drones or the rhythms of daily life in an extended family compound, he transports us beyond the scarifying headlines of an anxious West and a volatile East, beyond stereotype and assumption, and helps to bring a dazzling diverse global culture within emotional and intellectual reach.

Buy it here –¬†Amazon India¬†| Flipkart |¬†Amazon US¬†| The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: To tell the truth, the only reason I picked up this book in the first place was because the author was famous for having written The Reluctant Fundamentalist which went on to become a major motion picture. Otherwise, a book with a title like that would have been easily glossed over.

The book has been divided by essays into three parts – Life, Art and Politics. It’s difficult to choose which part I liked the most. But yes, I found the first two parts more easy to read and interesting while the final one was heavy and dry on the palate.

I liked the way the essays have been structured. It starts with giving us a glimpse into the author’s life which makes it easier to appreciate what comes later on. We see the world through his eyes and experiences and it lends itself a different voice than the world might see from their side of the spider’s web.

The author’s journey through his career changes, his personal life and travel within the three countries makes for an interesting narrative. In seeing the world-view through his eyes, one finds oneself wondering at the objectivity and its absence in all things meaningful.

The essays in the Art section also made for a gripping read. With my interest in all things related to books, I could identify where the author was coming from. His essays about rereading books, likeable characters, Murakami, great American novel and the change of reading experience through ebooks found a resonance within me. They made for a page turning read.

Let me now talk about the Politics section. Frankly, I have zero knowledge and/or interest in politics. But every so often, with the help of books like these, I try to keep myself abreast of the goings-on in the world. And that’s precisely where this section stepped in. The essays give a plethora of events to think about, to reflect upon. Looking at the drones and war from an insider’s perspective lends it an air of honesty and raw brutalism that makes one shudder. It’s easy to read about it in the news than to hear someone who has been through it and knows the ins and outs. It would be easier to side with the US on its drones and air strikes when its labelled as a fight with terrorism but when you hear it from the horse’s mouth do you realise it carries within it so much more than just that. The essays give a refreshing albeit¬†heart rending stance to the whole situation. Frankly, it was difficult to go through it. It was unsettling¬†and as is easier, one tends to pass by what is uncomfortable or¬†evokes disturbing emotions. But I needed to know the bird’s eye view of things and not just what the newspapers tell me and hence I read it, every single word of it. It didn’t help settle my perturbed emotions but surely helped me realize that one can never see the panorama from just one side. And now that I have touched on the philosophical, let me give it a rest. And you go read the book.

Highly influential and well-written. Would definitely be trying the author again.

4/5 stars РI liked it. 4 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Random House India for providing the review copy.

Power Play by Danielle Steel

Date Published: March 13, 2014
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Pages: 352
Source: Review Copy provided by Random House India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis: Fiona Carson has proven herself as CEO of a multibillion-dollar high-tech company ‚Äď a successful woman in a man’s world. Devoted single mother, world-class strategist, and tough negotiator, Fiona has to keep a delicate balance every day.

Meanwhile, Marshall Weston basks in the fruits of his achievements. At his side is his wife Liz who has gladly sacrificed her own career to raise their three children. Smooth, shrewd and irreproachable, Marshall’s power only enhances his charisma ‚Äď but he harbors secrets that could destroy his life at any moment.

Both must face their own demons, and the lives they lead come at a high price. But just how high a price are they willing to pay?

POWER PLAY is a compelling, heart-rending portrayal of love, family and career ‚Äď the perfect read for fans of Penny Vincenzi, Susan Lewis and Lesley Pearce.

Buy it here –¬†Amazon India¬†| Flipkart |¬†Amazon US¬†| The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: It had been quite some time since I read Steel and I had almost forgotten what it was like. So when I saw this opportunity, I jumped at it. Oh, a random fact that I came across, she was born a day before India got her independence. Striking coincidence.

Woah, she sure is a writing machine. She has 200+ distinct works listed on Goodreads and she works on more than one book at a time! I wish I had her brains and writing skills. She is still writing away and she’s almost 70! I hope my brains continue to run by the time I am that age.

Anyway, about the book, I am glad to have come across it at just the right time. I needed an easy read that would read itself while I lay around. It did do that for the most part except when it elicited emotions in me that weren’t so friendly. When the lazy read became an edge of the seat thriller and I was almost afraid to look for fear that something bad will happen. Yeah, it’s one of those books.

Although I was hoping for a more intense connection between the two protagonists since the writer was closely following their lives, it turned out that the reader was merely to look at the gender differences between the power roles. And that one did see. But I wish there was some connection to tie them both together somehow.

The book does seem to end on a happy note if one may call it that. There could have been a myriad set of endings going with that storyline. This was the one Steel had in mind.

I did enjoy the story for it’s being an easy read but I think my other Steel reads have been better and so I was looking for more perhaps.

Nevertheless, this makes for a good, breezy read highlighting the difference between power play among the genders. Not always true but mostly so.

3/5 stars РI liked it. 3 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Random House India for providing the review copy.

Showcase Sunday #7

The aim of Showcase Sunday by Vicky @ Book, Biscuits and Tea is to showcase our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders this week.

I haven’t done this in forever but last month, I had such a massive haul, I really wanted to show it to you and decided to do a vlog for a change. What do you think? You like the vlog or the blog post? It’s my second time doing this so I am still learning.

 

Have you read any of these books? Are you looking forward to reading any of them?What was your haul for this week? Put your links in the comments below and I’ll come visit your book haul.

 

Butterfly Season by Natasha Ahmed

Date Published: March 20, 2014
Publisher: Indireads
Pages: 169
Source: Review copy provided by Indireads
Format: Kindle

Goodreads Synopsis:

On her first holiday in six years, Rumi is expecting to relax and unwind. But when she is set up by her long-time friend, she doesn’t shy away from the possibilities. Ahad, a charming, independent, self-made man, captures her imagination, drawing her away from her disapproving sister, Juveria.

Faced with sizzling chemistry and a meeting of the minds, Ahad and Rumi find themselves deep in a relationship that moves forward with growing intensity. But as her desire for the self-assured Ahad grows, Rumi struggles with a decision that will impact the rest of her life.

Confronted by her scandalized sister, a forbidding uncle and a society that frowns on pre-marital intimacy, Rumi has to decide whether to shed her middle-class sensibilities, turning her back on her family, or return to her secluded existence as an unmarried woman in Pakistan.

We follow Rumi from rainy London to a sweltering Karachi, as she tries to take control of her own destiny.

Buy it here РAmazon US | Add on Goodreads

My View: As is characteristic of me, I jumped into the book without any clue to its plot. What held me on was the easy going language, the interesting plot line and the effortlessness of the story reeling me in. 

The plot isn’t very innovative or original but it stands its own in the context in which it occurs. The cultural relevance of Pakistan is another distinguishing factor.¬†

The writing is smooth flowing and although a couple of instances had me raising my brow in a ‘really?’, they were addressed later on and made sense. The romance is well done and not too mushy but it would have really helped had the book been given more pages and time for the romance to develop instead of looking insta-love. I hate those.

The characters were real and at times seemed hyper but I guess some people are like that in real life.

Overall, the book made for a quick, interesting read. I look forward to more substantial and lengthy book by the author in the future.

3/5 stars – I liked it.3 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Indireads for a review copy.

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Date Published: April 5, 2014
Publisher: Poppy
Pages: 337
Source: Local Library
Format: Hardback

Goodreads Synopsis:¬†Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

Buy it here –Amazon India | Flipkart |¬†Amazon US | The Book Depository | Add on Goodreads

My View: The author’s ‘The statistical probability of love at first sight‘ has been on my to-read list since forever. In fact, I think it has been more than 2 years since I bought it but I still need to get to it. But surprisingly when I saw this one sitting on a library shelf, I decided to read this one first. You know how it goes, you borrow books from library and they are the ones actually getting read while the ones on your own shelf sulk away. Oh, well.

As usual, I went in this book blind, no back cover reads, no reviews gone through. Just straight dunk-in. So what did I find? To begin with, I had a feeling this might be getting somewhere but then after another few pages, I thought maybe not. This seems like one of those cliche’d, been there-done that read.

I truly found love for this book in the second half. I can see you nodding your head there. You know me too well, don’t you? Wherever travel comes in a book, I am all for it. And I gobble it up like it’s my very favorite food. Well, actually, it is! Even though I would have wanted some more of that travelling and descriptions but I realized the book wasn’t about that.

As I go through some of the reviews now, I realize a lot of people didn’t like this one for it being cheesy and cliche’d and almost unbelievable. Okay, I would agree it is a bit cheesy and cliche’d and unbelievable. But then isn’t this what books are for? Sometimes life doesn’t give you what a book does. You get to believe and hope and make those dreams¬†come true. That’s not heard of in real life. And that’s what got to me. It’s what made me love this book. The little thoughts, the similar thinking styles of the main characters. That’s not possible, I know! But still I loved it. I gorged on it¬†like anything. It gave me my breath of air, my unfulfilled dream came to fruition. Umm, okay, I know you are thinking I have probably lost it by this time.

Some of the writing in there is truly worth savoring and I read few sentences multiple time just to let all that beauty sink in.

Perhaps it could be the stage of my life from where I’m looking at it that this book makes absolute sense. It makes me see how this book is believable, how it can happen. It makes me want to fall in love and stay there, even at a distance but still in love. Ahh, the feeling.

I think Ms. Smith has given us a fresh concept albeit with the help of some cliche’d story line and instances. I believe this is one of those books that had it come at any other time, I might have given it a pass and commented on it being cheesy but right now, it means the world. It means everything. And someday I would like to send that postcard and ‘wish you were here’.

4/5 stars РI really liked it. 4 stars

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

The Mother I Never Knew: Two Novellas by Sudha Murty

Date Published: 2014
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Pages: 216
Source: Review copy provided by Random House India
Format: Paperback

Goodreads Synopsis:

What secrets lurk in a family‚Äôs past‚ÄĒand how important are they in the here and now?

Sudha Murty‚Äôs new book comprises two novellas that explore two quests by two different men‚ÄĒboth for mothers they never knew they had.

Venkatesh, a bank manager, stumbles upon his lookalike one fine day. When he probes further, he discovers his father‚Äôs hidden past, which includes an abandoned wife and child. Ventakesh is determined to make amends to his impoverished stepmother‚ÄĒbut how can he repay his father‚Äôs debt?

Mukesh, a young man, is shocked to realize after his father’s death that he was actually adopted. He sets out to find his biological mother, but the deeper he delves, the more confused he is about where his loyalties should lie: with the mother who gave birth to him, or with the mother who brought him up.

The Mother I Never Knew is a poignant, dramatic book that reaches deep into the human heart to reveal what we really feel about those closest to us.

Buy it here РAmazon India | Flipkart  | Add on Goodreads

My View: Once again skeptical of trying a new Indian author but always the one for taking risks, I dived in.

At the beginning, the simple writing did not impress me as such. It is one of the things that puts me off, in fact, because I find it an obstacle as it distracts me from the concept and the story. However, I soon realized that this was not the case with this book. Despite its simple writing, I could focus on the story and the writing aided in adding to the simplicity of the story.

Well, the story isn’t unique but not a mindless repeat as well. It has new facets and is told in a very subjective way. The author has made the story her own.

Although the story could have been just that, a story, instead of a novella. It could have been said in much less words and even less drama but I believe then I wouldn’t have been made privy to all the minor details that bring out the characters and their importance to the story line.

Both the stories have a Bollywood¬†movie feel to it but I preferred the first one over the second. The second one is too dramatic for my taste, dramatic to the extent of being unbelievable. The unnecessary stretch and added drama put me off towards the end and I was just looking forward to it to end. The first story in comparison talks about families and cultures in contrast, describes the different characters in the family and their mindsets. It takes a lot of time to get to the point but that time doesn’t seem like idling away, it adds value to the story. However, the same time seems wasted to me in the second story, with incidents of no value taking place and unnecessary emotional brouhaha that I would rather stay away from.

Having read through other reviews of the book, I realize this is not Ms Murty’s most stellar attempts at writing and I would love to read Wise and Otherwise which has been more widely appreciated. However, having said that, I did not feel like this was an underwhelming performance. Since this is the first of her works I read, I had no set¬†criteria to compare it¬†to and no expectations. I guess that worked in the book’s¬†favor.

Recommended for a one-time light read if you’re okay with some drama.

3.5/5 stars – Somewhere between ‘I liked it’ and ‘I really liked it’.¬†images-25

(All opinions expressed are my own and in no way influenced.)

Huge thanks to Random House India for a review copy.

It's all about Books!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,594 other followers

%d bloggers like this: